How the Internet Affects Our Minds


A friend of mine sent me a link today that I think is very interesting.

It’s a long read, but that is exactly the point of the article.

My challenge to you is to see if you can read the whole thing and then comment here with your thoughts on the subject =)

You can read the article here.

One thought on “How the Internet Affects Our Minds

  1. Emily says:

    A very clever article indeed, its point was established about half way down the page, for me. This is where I kept wondering, ironically, what the conclusion/point was and when, for Pete sake.
    As for the argument that technology in general is making us stupid…I feel it has its place. We enjoy the time it saves us for example in the kitchen (electric stove, dish washer, heck even my bread machine) but I still find myself longing for the days of old when horses took us to where we ventured and eating what you grew was the only choice. And as for television (which we do not have) and or the computer; if I let my oldest son sit in front the monitor all day long, each day playing computer games I can assure you his behavior is affected along with the quality of his life. His time is regulated and I still see how it affects him. I can say I see both positive and negative attributes as with just about anything. He can learn Hebrew, how to play the keyboard, and correspond with other believers with the aid of our pc. But there are side effects such as irritability, dependability on being constantly entertained and a bit of pure laziness.
    We have a prayer said after we read the Torah (first 5 books of the Bible)on the Sabbath. The Torah is also known to be called the tree of life hence this prayer is called Eitz Chaim which is Hebrew for “the tree of life”. This is based on Proverbs 3:18, reminding us that the wisdom of God is the source of life for us all.
    Eitz Chaim
    It is a tree of life to those who take hold of it and happy are those who support it.
    Its ways are ways of pleasantness and all its paths are peace. Turn us Lord to you and let us return, renew our days as of old.
    While saying this prayer so many times, I often ponder on how worldly wisdom differs so greatly from wisdom obtained through God’s word and ways. I think about how our “modern technology” has both advanced us and hindered us. How the fast paced society we live in often competes with the patience God has called to be a sign of The Holy Spirit. And how the enemy uses this technology to distract us from the path that God has set before us. However, I am not sure Google would agree.

Share your thoughts!

