South Beach Diet


My husband and I began the The South Beach Diet on the 5th of January.  I have never been on an “official” diet before.  I have had to be careful, I have taken a natural herb and I have used shakes in place of meals,  I once even lost several pounds from eating healthy chocolate (that was FUN!), but this is a FIRST for me.

I was skeptical at first because you cut out so many of the things that God made for us to enjoy (whole fruit and grain) , but as I looked at the goals of the diet and the “Whole Picture”  I decided to give it a try.  Especially since it was my husbands idea and I want to support him.

The diet consists of relearning your eating habits and begins with cutting out all starches, carbohydrates and sugars from your diet for 2 weeks in Phase One.

What I like about the diet: I can eat as much as I want to of most vegetables, some meats and a fair amount of low-fat dairy.  Snacks are encouraged and I can even snack on nuts in the evening.

What I don’t like about the diet: I miss taking my liquid vitamin every day.  It is a delicious fruit blend and I can’t have fruit in this phase.  I also miss eating my healthy chocolate every day. =)  And yesterday I watched everyone eat homemade brownies and ice cream, one of my favorite desserts, while I busied myself crocheting!

Results:  in the first 4 days I lost 2 pounds ~ pretty good results!  My goal is to lose about 13 more pounds total, which will put me at my weight at age 25.

New results: Today is one week and I have lost 4 pounds.  One more week in Phase One!

Share your thoughts!

