The Least of These


Yesterday our family served YHWH at the local soup kitchen.  This is something we began doing in the last year and it has been such a blessing to me.  My hope is that the children will learn the joy of serving others through this and that a deep compassion for those less fortunate will grow inside of them.

Sometimes there is complaining ahead of time, so yesterday soon after we arrived, I walked some of them over to where they could see the front door and asked them who was going to walk through that door from 4 o’clock to 6 o’clock pm.  Then I explained that it was our Father.  Yes, it is a long day from 1 – 7 pm, but all of the food preparation, serving the people who come in and the clean up afterward… it is all for Him and when we come to the soup kitchen, that is what we need to keep in mind.  I reminded them of the verse found in Matthews 25: 34-41

“Then shall the King say unto them on his right hand,

Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world:

For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat:

I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink:

I was a stranger, and ye took me in:

Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me:

I was in prison, and ye came unto me.’

Then shall the righteous answer him, saying,

Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee?

or thirsty, and gave thee drink?

When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in?

or naked, and clothed thee?

Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee?’

And the King shall answer and say unto them,

Verily I say unto you,

Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren,

ye have done it unto me.‘”

I think that reminder was helpful to them.  I could sense a change in attitude and some positive comments were made afterward.

How does your family serve the Father in your community?  I would love to hear other ideas of how we can reach out to others.  Also if you know of any books that tell stories of people who have done this, please share those as well.

Share your thoughts!

