Why We Use Raw Honey


As you know, if you have been reading my blog, my husband and I have been on the South Beach Diet for nearly a month.  I lost 5 pounds in the first 2 weeks and the last time I weighed have kept it off.  My husband lost 9 pounds, but he has been off the diet several times since and gained a couple back.  It appears that the results are good and I like the concept of retraining your body, however, I have decided that I am going to make up my own diet that includes some things that are not allowed in the South Beach Diet.

One of those things is honey.  I believe that honey is not only an excellent sweetener, but the Bible talks about it over and over in a positive light.  If it is purchased directly from the beekeeper, it is about as natural as you can get.  Honey contains a lot of extra benefits as well.  Here are just a few:

  • 1.  If your honey is locally grown, it can reduce allergies related to pollens in your area
  • 2. It is fat-free, cholesterol free and sodium free.
  • 3. It contains natural antioxidants, vitamins, minerals and enzymes.
  • 4. Honey has a healthy Glycemic Index (GI), meaning that its sugars can be gradually absorbed into the bloodstream to result in better digestion.
  • 5. Honey does not expire. It has a natural antibiotic and antiviral compound that cause this.
  • 6. What about losing weight while eating honey?  Check out this interesting article about the “Hibernation Diet”.
  • 7. Visit this page to learn the many health benefits of raw honey, including healing sore throats, building your immune system and more.

I’m sure there is so much more that I don’t even know yet, but these are some of the reasons that we have chosen to use honey in our diet and why I am going to “modify” the South Beach Diet for myself…

What is your favorite sweetener?

2 thoughts on “Why We Use Raw Honey

  1. Emily says:

    Well, my dear husband loved agave but we learned that the sweet nectar is just as deadly as high fructose syrup. So you might want to look into that. We too like the raw honey and plan to begin another bee hive of our own in a couple months. (Last years hive was wiped out by wax worms.) But I still prefer to use granulated sugar in baking. And I wanted to share that we found another sugar that is much different than any other we have tired before and we have tried quite a few in the past, demerara, rapadura, turbinado, etc. This one is by Heavenly Organics™ called Heavenly Sugar. By the looks of it in the bag, I thought it was just another brand of organic cane sugar. But the discription is as follows…
    Heavenly Sugar from India is produced by a cooperative of farmers living in the foothills of the Himalaya Mountains, and is processed with wild-crafted herbs to remove impurities in the cane juice, and is then carefully sun-dried and evaporated into pure golden brown crystals.
    I can tell you after going through over 5lbs. of it there is a huge difference! When opening the bags it appears similar to dark brown sugar in color and moisture. It is not as sweet as the other cane sugars and it smells a bit on the alcohol-like side. The biggest difference is that it doesn’t give me that addictiveness that comes from consuming sugar. Perhaps it is not spiking my levels as the other sugars do (I wish I had my mother’s blood glucose tester). I ordered it from Tropical Traditions (where we get our coconut oil from) and I will definitely be ordering it again…just wish it came in larger quantities.

    • KARE says:

      I recently heard the same thing about agave, so we will not be ordering it anymore either. I am planning to stick to some form of raw sugar, raw honey, maple syrup and molasses at this point.

      Thank you for the tips, I am going to look into this sugar that you suggested. I usually order bulk and/or organic things from Azure Standard, but this sounds really good!

Share your thoughts!

