Make Your Own Vanilla


I’ve been making my own vanilla for 7 or 8 years now and it’s so easy, anyone can do it!

I purchase my vanilla beans at a local grocery store, but if you can’t find them, you can also purchase them from Azure Standard or  other places online I’m sure.

Here is the recipe.

Homemade Vanilla
  • 1/2 pint bottle of rum
  • 4 vanilla beans

That’s it!  No other ingredients.

Cut each bean up the center, like you are opening a pod of peas, then place all four vanilla bean pods inside the container of rum.

For the best flavor, let it sit in a cool, dark place for 6 months.  (When I make it, I write the date it will be in 6 months on the bottle somewhere, just in case I might happen to forget when I made it).  Every few days, give the bottle a good shake.

When the vanilla is ready, I move it into a pretty bottle with a cork and keep it with my other baking ingredients.  I leave the beans in the rum while I use it so that it can continue to get stronger.

This makes great gifts too!  Be sure to make it 6 months before you want to give the gift!

Share your thoughts!

