Entertainment


I was thinking…

Entertainment in our day and especially in our country is such a huge thing.  Really, many people think of it as a necessity.  Everyone wants to be entertained, whether it is a movie, choice of music, sports, the type of books we read, what we watch on television, even what we eat…

When I talk to my children about this, I tell them it is like eating candy.  When we read only for entertainment, it is like eating candy all the time.  This can apply to all of the examples above.  It is unhealthy.

This is definitely one of my personal pet peeves, but does that make it wrong?

The other night I skimmed one of the books that is on my list titled “Hollywood World Views“.  While I don’t agree with everything the author says, he does have a lot of good points, and it is worth reading if you have a discerning mind while you read it.  The basic premise of the book is that Hollywood DOES have an agenda, any movie maker has an agenda, and you need to watch with that in mind.

But that is only one aspect of entertainment. Books have agendas, so do blogs, music, television…  so what should we do about it?

As a Christian, I believe all of my standards should be based on what God has to say.  So, what does the Bible have to say about entertainment?

But before we answer that, what is the definition of entertainment: the action of providing or being provided with amusement or enjoyment

Is amusement and enjoyment wrong?

No, but is that the only question to ask?

As a true follower of Christ, when we first give our heart and life to Him, why does He leave us here on this earth rather than taking us home to be with Him?

  • It is not to glorify Him, because we could do that better in heaven.
  • It is not to know Him, because it would be so much easier if we were in heaven too.
  • It is not for our spiritual benefit, because all heavenly benefits would outweigh any slight spiritual benefits we could gain on earth

My personal opinion, and that’s all this is, so please sisters, check your Bible to see if this measures up, is that we have been left on this earth for one reason only:

For everyone else.

We are to be a unique message to the world of God the Savior and His love and plan for Salvation.

Our message should be loud and clear by the way we present ourselves, the way we appear, the things we do, the things we don’t do, what we think about, and what we say.  We should be distinct from every  “religion” out there because our lives reflect a TRUE difference, not just one day a week.  And a true peace, which does not come from man’s religions.  I think you all know what I mean, but if you have questions, feel free to ask.

So here are some Scriptures that speak to principles for guiding us in our entertainment choices:

  • Philippians 4:8 is such a great reminder on what to think on… things that are lovely, of good report, true, honest, just, virtuous…
  • Paul’s words  in Ephesians 5:16 where he says to “redeem the time because the days are evil”.
  • There are many verses speaking about not being idle

Wow, I am talking to myself here.

Are we redeeming the time?

Or wasting it?

Frittering away the hours with being entertained or doing things that will count for eternity?

***************************************

I made here a list of a few activities in my day and put them under three columns:

Need to Be Done

Sleep

Eat

Oversee the Household ~ cleaning, meal preparation, attitudes

Schooling

Care for the Animals

Entertainment

Play instruments

Listen to music

Fun but useless games

Educational games

Reading novels

Netflix

educational movies

Eternal Value

train my children

read my letter from God

Talk to God

listen to praise music

sing praise music

Minister to neighbors

Gather with Believers

This Blog (that is my intention)

Encourage Other Believers

Read books that will help me grow spiritually

**********************************************

I need to ask myself which category my crafts fall into?  I guess that depends on what I do with the finished item, how much time it takes me away from more important things and how much money I spend on it.

Or what about my home business?  That would largely depend on my motives for having it in the first place, and again, how much time and money I invest there.

So, I will be thinking on these things.

I would love feedback from all of you!

I don’t know how many people are reading this blog unless you comment.  Not only does it encourage me, but others as well.

Also, once I have a large enough readership, I have had offers from some of my sponsors to have some giveaways…  that should be fun!

Don’t forget to sign up  to have this delivered to your inbox. The link is on the top right!

One thought on “Entertainment

  1. Emily says:

    Wonderful topic…this has been a center issue in our home for a number of years now. We do ok…meaning we try and be discerning about how our time is spent but even still you have ways creep in that do not edify. It is a constant battle with our flesh and in the world we live in.
    On top of that it has been on my heart now for about a year to concentrate and act on what the gospels say as to how to live out our days in these “Noah-like” times. My conclusion, I agree, that we are here to serve/for one another. Will this not also glorify Him, refine us and be charitable to others?
    For motive purposes, I ask myself (keeping in mind the scripture of building up treasures in heaven) am I building up treasures for here and now or for heaven?
    And then I thank God because without Him I do not even come close to being the salt and the light or the giving, humbled, servant He deserves!
    I sure would like to read what others have to say as well.

Share your thoughts!

