Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups


I was introduced to this recipe from Wardeh at Gnowfglins, who got if from Avivah at Oceans of Joy…  and today my “Little Mama” and I made these while everyone else was out somewhere!  Since I am a chocoholic, I followed Gnowfglins advice and doubled the chocolate part.  Wow!  If you like Reese’s and if you liked the healthy fudge, then you will really like these!  They are sooo much better than Reese’s (especially because they are GOOD for you!) 😉

Hint from Karilee: I recommend that you don’t use too much honey in the chocolate part of this or it’s way too sweet. I would tend to go toward the lesser amount.

Original Recipe from Avivah:

Too Good to Be Healthy Peanut Butter Cups

Chocolate layer: (Note from Avivah: some of you will recognize this as my healthy chocolate recipe)

  • 1/2 c. cocoa powder
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1/8 – 1/4 c. honey

Melt the coconut oil and stir the other ingredients in; mix until smooth.  Pour the chocolate into the bottom of the pan or fill the molds with a thin layer, leaving half of the chocolate for the topping.  Let cool while you prepare the peanut butter filling.  (The chocolate will have the taste of semi sweet dark chocolate, not milk chocolate. I experimented using coconut milk to see if I could make it more similar to milk chocolate, but wasn’t satisfied with the consistency.)

filling:

  • 3/4 c. creamy peanut butter (I use organic, with only sea salt added)
  • 2 T. honey
  • 1 t. vanilla
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil
  • 1/3 c. ground nuts (I used pecan meal)

Melt the coconut oil, stir in honey, vanilla, and then the peanut butter.  When smooth, stir in the ground nuts.  Spread the peanut butter filling on top of the chocolate, whether it’s in a mold or a pan.  Finally, take the remaining chocolate mixture (if it’s started to solidify, heat it gently for a couple of minutes until it’s liquidy and easy to pour) and pour it on top of the peanut butter layer, smoothing it so that the top is even. Refrigerate or freeze.

Healthy chocolates are super expensive, and these are a fraction of the price!  Not only that, they’re packed with healthy fats and are very satisfying; two make a nice dessert that you don’t have to feel guilty about.  And they are so good you can serve them to your junk food loving friends, too!

2/2 Notes from Wardeh:

The base for each layer – chocolate, then peanut butter, then chocolate – is made of coconut oil and honey. I doubled the chocolate layer and put a full amount of it as the bottom and top layers of the peanut butter bars. (They would have been cups had I a mini-muffin tin or some small molds.) I also had trouble reheating the chocolate filling to make it fluid again, so I suggest you make each amount right before drizzling it in the pan (or mold).

2/9 Update from Wardeh:

I’d like to get some little candy molds to make them pretty and you know what? They would make a good food gift for a birthday, or other special occasion. I figured out how to re-liquefy the chocolate layer. Add a smidge more coconut oil, bit by bit, while reheating and it will smooth out again. And I didn’t mention last week – but I totally omitted the nut meal (from Avivah’s original recipe).

10 thoughts on “Healthy Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

  1. KARE says:

    Update: I gave some of these to my neighbors who are very skeptical when it comes to healthy, especially in the sweets department… they got RAVE REVIEWS!

  2. Avivah @ Oceans of Joy says:

    Glad you liked the recipe, Kare – I’ve gotten a lot of positive responses from this creation of mine!

    Since I know the blogosphere can get confusing and mistakes easily happen, I wanted to clarify: everything you cut and pasted in your post is actually the text of my original post; Wardeh included some more instructions on her site that are worth adding to my instructions to make it easier for someone preparing them for the first time!

    • karebiz says:

      Hi Jane,

      I’m sorry, other than the fact that chocolate is a great anti-oxidant and honey is a great antidote for coughs and allergies and coconut oil is extremely good for you and there is a lot of raw coconut oil in here, I don’t really know specifics. If you do find out, I would love it if you would share with us! =)

      Sincerely,

      Kare

  3. YahKheena says:

    We just finished making these… so yummy!! We were buying Paul Newman’s peanut butter cups at $2.89 for three cups… yikes that was way too much money! Now we have a tray of 24 for about $5.00… and these one taste so much better! Thanks for sharing!

    Shalom

    • karebiz says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed them! They do taste much better than Paul Newman’s. =) I can’t take credit for the delicious recipe, but I’m happy to share it!

Share your thoughts!

