Effective Natural Deodorant


I waited until I had a chance to test this recipe for myself so that I could heartily recommend it to you =)  I have now been using this for about a week.  See my comments below.

Credit for this recipe goes to Lindsay at PassionateHomemaking.com I read about this deodorant a while ago on her blog, but I have been happy with my “natural” deodorant from the health food store, so I wasn’t in any hurry to try it.  This last time she posted I did some investigating (which probably doesn’t surprise you =>) and discovered that the deodorant that I have been so happy with has talc and another petroleum ingredient in it that I don’t like.  I also saw the many, many responses she received from her readers saying how much they loved the deodorant and how well it worked… So I decided it was time to try Lindsay’s recipe.

My review:

Let me tell you, it is every bit as incredible as she and her readers say it is.  Not only is it easy to make, but it is very effective.  I liked the other deodorant because it didn’t have to be applied every day, but I have found that for my level of activity, this one doesn’t either.  Mind you, it is cold here, so summer may be a different story…  but I tend to get clammy under my arms even in winter.  I have had absolutely NO body odor.  In fact, it works even BETTER than the other one I was buying.

You are welcome to visit Lindsay’s blog where she has done a nice video showing how to make this, but I have also included the recipe here for you.  I used cornstarch because I had it on hand, but next time I will make sure I have some arrowroot.

Coconut Oil Deodorant

Ingredients:

6-8 Tbsp Coconut oil (solid state)
1/4 cup baking soda
1/4 cup arrowroot powder or cornstarch (arrowroot is preferred)

Directions:

  1. Combine equal portions of baking soda & arrowroot powder.
  2. Slowly add coconut oil and work it in with a spoon or hand blender until it maintains a firm but pliable texture. It should be about the same texture as commercial deodorant, solid but able to be applied easily. If it is too wet, add further arrowroot powder/cornstarch to thicken.
  3. You can either scoop this recipe into your old deodorant dispensers or place in a small container with lid and apply with fingers with each use. Makes about 1 cup. This recipe lasts about 3 months for two people with regular daily use.

I took Lindsay’s advice and purchased my coconut oil from Mountain Rose Herbs.  In fact, I was so excited about it that I became an affiliate, so if you don’t have another source for virgin coconut oil and you choose to purchase through my link, I will get a small percentage.  I bought a large (5 gallon) container of the refined virgin coconut oil because I plan to make more deodorant (maybe even sell some this summer at our farmers market!), try some other recipes for cosmetics and use it for soap-making as well.  I also bought a gallon size container of unrefined virgin coconut oil so I can make more of that delicious fudge and peanut butter cups.

For those of you who prefer, there is a link here with instructions on how to put it into an old deodorant container.

3 thoughts on “Effective Natural Deodorant

  1. Leaves Heal says:

    Love this! I can never leave a recipe alone, so I’m playing with it a bit, adding some Ee-Wah-Kee Clay to it, and some essential oil. We’ll see if it still works when I’m done with it 🙂 Thank you!

Share your thoughts!

