Where I Have Been


It’s been a few days since I posted, so I wanted to let you all know why.  I have been immersing myself in my home, reading a book about homeschooling and managing the home.  I won’t go into all the details  here of our lives, but I do want to share some excerpts from this book…. several books, in fact, but mainly one because they are having such an impact on me.

The main book is titled  The Heart of Wisdom by Robin Sampson.  I am also reading What Your Child Needs to Know When A Family’s Guide to the Biblical Holidays, and Wisdom, An Internet-Linked Unit Study, also by Robin.

The book I am devouring first is the Heart of Wisdom book, which is my favorite type of book.  It is extremely thought-provoking.  Years ago I read Wholehearted Child, Ignite the Fire and For the Children’s Sake, all of which have excellent homeschooling philosophies and I have kept them for reference.  I have implemented many of these things over the years of seeking to instill a love for learning in my children, but unfortunately set them aside more recently to pursue a more “traditional” approach, using workbooks…  This was due mostly to fear on my part, and probably some guilt too… neither one which should be a motive.

So, on to the Heart of Wisdom.  As always, my Creator knew just what I needed at this time in my heart when He guided me to this book.  The book has two messages.  First, to show the flaws in the present education system, both in the public schools and in the home-school movement.  And secondly, to show the biblical way of education.

In summary, the present education system is mostly based on Greek philosophy.  Now that I have been reading this book, I see how that philosophy has permeated not only our schools, but also our society and has completely destroyed it.  Our high emphasis on sports, entertainment, the worship of the body, the Olympics, all of this was brought to us from Greece thousands of years ago.  Here I will take a brief detour on the history of the Olympics:

As I type this, it is the final night of the Olympics, which I have seen glimpses of over the past several weeks and I definitely see the glorification of the human body and it’s accomplishments.  Here is some information I found on the internet in just a few minutes…  I’m sure you could easily find a lot more.

The ancient Olympic Games, part of a major religious festival honoring Zeus, the chief Greek god, were the biggest event in their world. They were the scene of political rivalries between people from different parts of the Greek world, and the site of controversies, boasts, public announcements and humiliations. In this section you can explore the context of the Olympics and read stories about the participants and spectators who came to Olympia from all over the Greek world.  Read more about this pagan event here.

Did you know the Olympics were performed with no clothing even into the 1900s?  Here is a link and a book review.  Warning, these are explicit, so exercise caution when visiting these links.

Estimates on the date of the first recorded Olympic Games in ancient Greece vary around the early 800’s BC, with indications of regular games held far earlier. The first events were foot races. Soon wrestling and the pentathlon (five events by one athlete) were added. More events followed.

The games and ceremonies emphasized reverence to heaven, ability of body and mind, plus nakedness and deliberate gore for the ratings (popularity). Olympics continued in Greece every four years for about a thousand years. After the Romans gained power in Greece, Emperor Theodosius I outlawed the Olympics in the year 393 AD because they (the Games) weren’t Christian.

Fifteen hundred years passed. In 1894 the International Olympic Committee (IOC) was founded to rekindle the Olympic games. In 1896, the first modern Summer Olympics was held in Athens Greece. Fourteen nations participated track and field, fencing, weightlifting, rifle and pistol shooting, tennis, cycling, swimming, gymnastics, and wrestling. No women were allowed to compete. The IOC director stated that including women would be, “impractical, uninteresting, unaesthetic, and incorrect.”

This is the history of Olympics.  After seeing what the women were wearing (or not wearing, rather)  this year for the skating, maybe we have not really changed that much.

Back to the book.  The Heart of Wisdom takes several chapters to review the history of education, beginning with the Bible times all the way to the present.  It is fascinating and shows clearly why and how it led to the demise of the family and now to the moral collapse of our society.

So isn’t the home-school movement a move in the right direction?  It certainly can be, but not necessarily.  The reason is because often the homeschooling environment brings with it the same pagan Greek philosophies that are in the public school systems.

This is why we are losing our home-schooled youth to the world, even though they are often academically and socially superior.  We have lost our vision for what Scripture teaches about education.  The pursuit of knowledge has been placed on a pedestal right next to the pursuit of wealth and the worship of the body, when instead our emphasis should be teaching our children about Scripture  (YHWH’s word) and Creation/HIStory (YHWH’s world) These things are all encompassing when done properly.  The key is doing them properly, which brings us to the second purpose of the book…HOW to use the Heart of Wisdom approach.

I have only had the books for a few days, so haven’t finished highlighting and reading… but we did a half day on Friday using some of the ideas and I told my children I am so excited about implementing more of these ideas tomorrow that I have butterflies in my stomach.  As I learn, I will share with all of you.

Share your thoughts!

