Can I Ramble?


Greetings and peace to all of you.

Do you sometimes feel like you have so much on your heart that you ramble?  I don’t mean the kind of rambling where you say meaningless things, but when maybe you are hard to follow because you have so many things you want to talk about.  I feel that way tonite.  Where do I begin?

It has been such a lovely weekend.  We began with our first ever Sabbath celebration.  I made Challah bread and my husband gave me the greatest compliment I have ever received from him on any bread I have made (even included the ciabatta!).  We also watched the first half of “Acts” based on the book of Acts. Our day wasn’t exactly the way I envisioned a Sabbath to be, but I know these things take time.  There was some resistance by a few members in the family, which I expected.

Here is a sweet picture for you:  As we were cleaning up the house on Friday afternoon, my “Little Mama” was happily working and saying in a sing-songy little voice… Jesus is coming.  Oh the sweetness, the innocence and preciousness of a child.  No wonder Yeshua loves them so much.

Then on the first day of the week we fellowshiped with our brothers and sisters and all shared what Elohim has been teaching us.  Each of us has been seeking the ways of the early church and it is so much fun to see as we seek the Truth how many of our findings are similar.

Today the girls and I went in to town to meet with a local business owner and while we were there, the conversation turned in this wonderful direction of things I have been learning and YHWH blessed me with encouragement through a brother who is already there.

Do you know how when you buy a car, suddenly you notice all the people who have that same type of car?  Prior to owning one, you may have never noticed that car, but now they seem to be more noticeable.

This is my experience lately.  As He is revealing new truths to me, I am running across people who are already walking in these ways… without seeking these people out.

But for me, I think it began many years ago.  One of the things YHWH placed inside of me is a deep love for His people, the Jewish people.  For as long as I can remember I have felt this love and it was increased even more in 1987 when I went to Israel.

In the last 14 years more than ever, He has been wooing me, drawing me closer.  I have openly admitted on this blog that there have been distractions for me during this time and for that I am sorry, but my deepest desire is to follow Him, to seek Truth and obey at any cost.  Over these 14 years I have wrestled with what holidays to celebrate and how to celebrate them.  I have studied the Sabbath and even admitted that it seemed to be something to celebrate and then not followed it.  But in His time, it is all coming together.

Last night I looked up all the verses that are used to prove that the Sabbath changed to the Day of the Sun.  I do not want to make blind decisions, so I wanted to look at them objectively.  I did not see it in any of them.

Here are the verses:

Acts 20:7 “Now on the first day of the week, when the disciples came together to break bread, Paul, ready to depart the next day, spoke to them and continued his message until midnight.”

I see two options here:

First of all, there is a traditional time of meeting for the Jews at sunset for the closing of the Sabbath.  It’s called a Havdalah Service and since Paul was leaving the next day, this one went especially long, until midnite.  It was probably not a new time established to celebrate the resurrection and was only considered the first day of the week by the Jews because their days begin at sunset.  They would have said the same thing in the Original Scriptures when referring to this same service.

Another very feasible option is that this was the annual First Fruits, which is a day commanded to be observed on the first day of the week.  It takes place shortly after Passover (this was 12 days after Passover) and begins the 50 days of  counting the Omer which leads to Pentecost.

1 Cor 16:2  “On the first day of the week let each one of you lay something aside, storing up as he may prosper that there be no collections when I come.”

This passage does not indicate that there was any kind of a service involved or even that it was a regular practice, only that after they received this letter, they should collect some things on the first day of the week.

Revelation 2:10  I was in the Spirit on the Lord’s day, and heard behind me a great voice, as of a trumpet,

I personally don’t see here why the Lord’s Day equals the first day of the week…  In fact, the words in Greek could just as easily been translated the Day of the Lord, which the book of Revelation is written about.  That makes more sense to me!

As far as I could find, there are no other Scriptures that could indicate any type of regular service held on the first day of the week.

However, there was a time when Christians began to celebrate on the first day of the week.  It was after the Roman Empire took over and the initial disciples and apostles were all gone.  Christianity was separating itself from Judaism.  First of all, for me, I do not see the Sabbath as Jewish, because it was established at Creation and it was given to Moses as one of the 10 commandments, which are for all people.  Second, why do we need to separate ourselves from the Jews who follow Yeshua?  We are all one in Him!  Also, I would rather follow the very earliest example of those who walked with Yeshua and who taught the early church before the influence of Rome and their worship of the Sun.

Just like I am stepping further into our homeschooling and going beyond “traditional homeschooling”, I also have a desire to step further into following Yeshua and go beyond the “traditional church” even the “traditional home church”.  Things (in general) have a tendency to become complacent with time.  What begins as a step in the right direction can easily turn into a “form” rather than something truly meaningful and producing good fruit.  Does that make sense?  Does anyone else see this?

Not just me, but our  fellowship as a whole wants something MORE, I want something MORE for my children.   I cannot be content with my present walk when there is so much MORE to learn.  I never want to be content in my walk with Yeshua, in my pursuit of Truth, but always learning and always going further in. And, these are the kind of people I want to be around.  People who challenge me to go beyond where I am.  People who have ALREADY gone beyond.

So, with that, I will end this post and hope that my rambling thoughts can be deciphered. =)

4 thoughts on “Can I Ramble?

  1. mark says:

    I sure do believe that the Sabbath day is the seven day – Saturday not Sunday. But don’t you think that the Bible teaches us that Jesus has become our Sabbath rest? The Sabbath is fulfilled in Jesus. It is in Christ that we cease from our works. It is in Christ that we find our rest (Heb 4:9–1 & Jn 14:6). I am a Sabbath keeper when I trust in Jesus as my Lord and Savior. Now as a believer it is good for me to consider how I should celebrate this wonderful truth and setting aside Saturday for this purpose is a great (Rom 14:5, Col 2:16,17). But this should not be a requirement or a test for fellowhship (Rom 6:14). In the OT the Israelites were required to give a tithe to the LORD but now all of what we have belongs to God. In the OT, the Israelites were required to set aside the Sabbath for rememberance and worship. But now, every day and every activity of our lives is supposed to be for worship (1Cor 10:31, Rom 12:1,2) What say you?

    • kare says:

      Hello Mark and Emily,

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is not my intent to use this as a test for fellowship, I am sorry if I implied that somewhere. I am simply sharing the things YHVH is laying on my heart.

      I very much appreciate that both of you used Scripture in your comments. Mark, I was taught the same things from those verses since the time I was a little girl (by some of the same teachers)

      Regarding Romans 14:5 This does not say anything about the Sabbath, simply about holding one day above another. I imagine it has to do with the Jewish culture or possibly the Roman culture, and I will research this.

      Regarding Colossians 2:16,17, I am not judging anyone, just sharing what I am learning and doing. I think probably more people will be judging me as they see the changes in my life, and I think that verse is for those who do celebrate and are judged. Celebrating all of these things can be a beautiful way to point to Yeshua, both in His first coming and His second since they are a shadow of things to come.

      Regarding Hebrews 4:9-11 This seems to me to be saying that the rest remains rather than being abolished. Either that, or it is a completely different rest altogether since it was offered to the people in the Old Testament in Hebrews 3 and they lost the offer due to their unbelief.

      Yes, I do wholeheartedly agree that every day and every activity of our lives should reflect our devotion to the Almighty Yahweh and I also believe that everything we have belongs to Him. But does that mean we no longer give a percentage of our income specifically to spread His kingdom? Does that mean that we no longer follow one of the 10 commandments, when the example of Jesus, His disciples and apostles show that they continued to do this even after He ascended? Did they miss His message that they didn’t need to keep the Sabbath Holy any longer?

      It seems to me that many people today look at the Sabbath as a “chore” rather than a day of blessing and therefore it is a relief to be “released” from having to keep it. I believe this is why Yeshua had to continually point out the error of the Pharisees who kept making more and more rules for keeping the Sabbath and lost the blessing and the meaning of it. When the Sabbath is kept holy from a heart of devotion, it takes on a whole new meaning. It becomes a day to look forward to. A day that is set apart from the other days of the week. A day to renew one’s spirit. If it becomes a legalistic thing of following rules, it is pointless to keep it as it then becomes self-righteousness and works.

      Here is some more historical information:

      321 AD
      “On the venerable day of the Sun let the magistrates and people residing in cities rest, and let all workshops be closed…”
      -Codex Justinianus lib. 3, tit. 12, 3; trans. in Philip Schaff, History of the Christian Church, Vol. 3, p. 380, note 1

      “Shortly after he made his Sunday proclamation, Constantine ordered his wife and eldest son murdered, and had a bronze statue of himself set atop a tall column as Apollo, the Sun God. This is the man known as the first Christian Emperor.”
      -Richard Reeves, “Pagan Christianity?” video, time marker 01:36 through 01:54, 2-23-2010.

      My desire is to follow the example set by all followers of God up until nearly the second century. My reasoning is that if they did not see Jesus as releasing us from keeping the Sabbath holy, then I don’t believe I should either.

  2. Emily says:

    What if one desires to set the Sabbath apart (keeping it holy)? We are told to do this on the 7th day, Saturday. I will never try to force another to do this, nor does HaShem. (Romans 14:5) However He does command it. (Ex. 20:8-10 Duet.5:12-14 Ex. 34:21)

    When The Messiah was resurrected, the Torah (the first 5 books of the Bible) were then written in our hearts. Therefore the “newness of Spirit” does not diminish the inspired words of Torah but brings them alive and exalts them with the revelation of Messiah as the ultimate goal of righteousness.

    Personally I do not think it good for me to choose which days to celebrate the Sabbath or which commandments to follow. Who am I to make those decisions? Instead I try my best to line my heart up with His ways and follow His commandments and statues. I do this out of my love and thanksgiving for making atonement for my sins. Thankfully my works do not render me saved but Messiah’s life does. How blessed we are to have such a compassionate and merciful God!!!

  3. Eunice says:

    there is no scriptual evidence that a new command was given by Yeshua or after His death and ressurection which is what it would have taken to change The Sabbath. My spirit lives for Sabbath now where as before it was a sunday call of duty. those who say they follow the Messiah may want to research the pagan beliefs written very clearly in history of the church itself and otherwise to see just who or what they are following. He gave his Set-Apart Spirit to guide each one to work out their own salvation with fear and trembling…we seek Him He will reveal all things we need to know (“seek and you shall find”) and it may be different timing for each person we need to exercise grace and focus on our own walk… If someone would have told me where I would be today on many of these issues I would have called them a liar and chased them from my church (yup) but having a desire as Kare puts it to keep going in deeper He revealed things to me that I never thought possible then He proved them to me also and that is just the good Father He is.

Share your thoughts!

