Thoughtful Thursday ~ Being a Good Samaritan


I’m late in writing today because we went to the Soup Kitchen as a family and served those in need in our community.  It was once again a blessing to me.  A long day standing on our feet, and a lot of work, but definitely a blessing. =)  I am beginning to recognize some faces and hope to get to the point where I know some names too.

I would really like to do more things like this as a family.  One of those things is to visit nursing homes or retirement homes nearby and reach out to some of the older folks.  Maybe take along a guitar and sing with them or bake some cookies and share with them.

I am also very interested in my sweet little girls and I holding tea parties and inviting the neighbor ladies, one or two at a time, to come over and have tea and cookies with us.  I am looking for natural ways to get to know my neighbors and this could be one of them.

I have a few more ideas, but I’ll save them for other Thursdays.  However, I would love comments from you all.  Any suggestions?  How do you reach out in your community?

I would also like to encourage those of you who can to give to the sweet family that is listed on the right side of this blog as Kristi & Co.  This is a fatherless family in need.  There is a link there where you can read their story.  Yeshua, the Word made flesh speaks to us in James 1:27 saying , “The religious observance that God the Father considers pure and faultless is this: to care for orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being contaminated by the world.”  I truly believe that reaching out to this family is exactly what this verse is talking about! =)

Share your thoughts!

