Sunday Stories – Ruth


A Blessed Gentile

We watched a DVD on the book of Ruth yesterday.  It wasn’t very well made, but there were still several things that caught my attention.

1. They showed how beautiful the relationship was between Naomi and Ruth.  Ruth was devoted to her and was willing to give up her family, her beliefs and her home and adapt to Naomi’s ways and her God’s ways in order to go with Naomi.

Ruth 1:16
And Ruth said, Entreat me not to leave you, or to return from following after you: for wherever you go, I will go; and where you lodge, I will lodge: your people shall be my people, and your God my God:

Here is one example of our Father accepting a Gentile into His fold… a Gentile who becomes a part of the heritage of our salvation, from who the SEED of the Messiah comes.  Gentiles, even before Yeshua came, were welcomed into His plan if they were willing to follow His ways.

Isaiah 56
Neither let the son of the stranger, that has joined himself to Adonai, speak, saying, "Adonai has utterly separated me from His people": ...For thus says Adonai unto the eunuchs that keep My sabbaths, and choose the things that please Me, and take hold of My covenant;Even unto them will I give in Mine house and within My walls a place and a name better than of sons and of daughters: I will give them an everlasting name, that shall not be cut off. Also the sons of the stranger, that join themselves to Adonai, to serve Him, and to love the name of Adonai, to be His servants, every one that keeps the Sabbath from polluting it, and takes hold of My covenant;Even them will I bring to My holy mountain, and make them joyful in My house of prayer: ... for Mine house shall be called an house of prayer for all people.

2. I also loved the gleaning.  One of the laws in the Torah is that everyone who harvested a field had to leave the corners for the poor.  The poor could come in and glean from those corners and have food to eat.  I think that is so beautiful!  So much in our world would be different if we would follow the ways of our Father.  “His works are perfect and all His ways are just!” Deuteronomy 32:4a

Leviticus 19
And when you reap the harvest of your land, you shall not wholly reap the corners of your field, neither shall you gather the gleanings of your harvest. And you shall not glean your vineyard, neither shall you gather every grape of your vineyard; you shall leave them for the poor and stranger: I am Adonai your YHWH.
Share your thoughts!

