Psalm 119


ALEPH.

  • Blessed are the undefiled in the waywho walk in the law of the LORD.
  • Blessed are they that keep His testimonies, seek Him with the whole heart.
  • They also do no iniquity: they walk in His ways.
  • You have commanded to keep Your precepts diligently.
  • O that my ways were directed to keep Your statutes!
  • Then will I not be ashamed, when I have respect unto all Your commandments.
  • I will praise You with uprightness of heart, when I will have learned Your righteous judgments.
  • I will keep Your statutes: O forsake me not utterly.

BETH.

  • Wherewithal will a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed according to Your word.
  • With my whole heart have I sought You: O let me not wander from Your commandments.
  • Your word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against You.
  • Blessed are You, O LORD: teach me Your statutes.
  • With my lips have I declared all the judgments of Your mouth.
  • I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies, as in all riches.
  • I will meditate in Your precepts, and have respect unto Your ways.
  • I will delight myself in Your statutes: I will not forget Your word.

GIMEL.

  • Deal bountifully with Your servant, that I may live, and keep Your word.
  • Open Thou my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of Your law.
  • I am a stranger in the earth: hide not Your commandments from me.
  • My soul breaks for the longing unto Your judgments at all times.
  • You have rebuked the proud, and cursed, which do err from Your commandments.
  • Remove from me reproach and contempt; for I have kept Your testimonies.
  • Princes also did sit and speak against me: Your servant did meditate in Your statutes.
  • Your testimonies also are my delight and my counsellers.

DALETH.

  • My soul cleaves unto the dust: quicken Thou me according to Your word.
  • I have declared my ways, and You heard me: teach me Your statutes.
  • Make me to understand the way of Your precepts: so will I talk of Your wondrous works.
  • My soul melts for heaviness: strengthen Thou me according unto Your word.
  • Remove from me the way of lying: and grant me Your law graciously.
  • I have chosen the way of truth: Your judgments have I laid before me.
  • I have stuck unto Your testimonies: O LORD, put me not to shame.
  • I will run the way of Your commandments, when You will enlarge my heart.

HE.

  • Teach me, O LORD, the way of Your statutes; and I will keep it unto the end.
  • Give me understanding, and I will keep Your law; yea, I will observe it with my whole heart.
  • Make me to go in the path of Your commandments; for therein do I delight.
  • Incline my heart unto Your testimonies, and not to covetousness.
  • Turn away mine eyes from beholding vanity; and quicken Thou me in Your way.
  • Stablish Your word unto Your servant, who is devoted to Your fear.
  • Turn away my reproach which I fear: for Your judgments are good.
  • Behold, I have longed after Your precepts: quicken me in Your righteousness.

VAU.

  • Let Your mercies come also unto me, O LORD, even Your salvation, according to Your word.
  • So will I have wherewith to answer him that reproaches me: for I trust in Your word.
  • And take not the word of truth utterly out of my mouth; for I have hoped in Your judgments.
  • So will I keep Your law continually for ever and ever.
  • And I will walk at liberty: for I seek Your precepts.
  • I will speak of Your testimonies also before kings, and will not be ashamed.
  • And I will delight myself in Your commandments, which I have loved.
  • My hands also will I lift up unto Your commandments, which I have loved; and I will meditate in Your statutes.

ZAIN.

  • Remember the word unto Your servant, upon which You have caused me to hope.
  • This is my comfort in my affliction: for Your word has quickened me.
  • The proud have had me greatly in derision: yet have I not declined from Your law.
  • I remembered Your judgments of old, O LORD; and have comforted myself.
  • Horror has taken hold upon me because of the wicked that forsake Your law.
  • Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my pilgrimage.
  • I have remembered Your name, O LORD, in the night, and have kept Your law.
  • This I had, because I kept Your precepts.

CHETH.

  • You are my portion, O LORD: I have said that I would keep Your words.
  • I intreated Your favour with my whole heart: be merciful unto me according to Your word.
  • I thought on my ways, and turned my feet unto Your testimonies.
  • I made haste, and delayed not to keep Your commandments.
  • The bands of the wicked have robbed me: but I have not forgotten Your law.
  • At midnight I will rise to give thanks unto You because of Your righteous judgments.
  • am a companion of all that fear You, and of them that keep Your precepts.
  • The earth, O LORD, is full of Your mercy: teach me Your statutes.

TETH.

  • You have dealt well with Your servant, O LORD, according unto Your word.
  • Teach me good judgment and knowledge: for I have believed Your commandments.
  • Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept Your word.
  • You are good, and do good; teach me Your statutes.
  • The proud have forged a lie against me: but I will keep Your precepts with mywhole heart.
  • Their heart is as fat as grease; but I delight in Your law.
  • It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn Your statutes.
  • The law of Your mouth is better unto me than thousands of gold and silver.

JOD.

  • Your hands have made me and fashioned me: give me understanding, that I may learn Your commandments.
  • They that fear You will be glad when they see me; because I have hoped in Your word.
  • I know, O LORD, that Your judgments are right, and that You in faithfulness have afflicted me.
  • Let, I pray You, Your merciful kindness be for my comfort, according to Your word unto Your servant.
  • Let Your tender mercies come unto me, that I may live: for Your law is my delight.
  • Let the proud be ashamed; for they dealt perversely with me without a cause:but I will meditate in Your precepts.
  • Let those that fear You turn unto me, and those that have known Your testimonies.
  • Let my heart be sound in Your statutes; that I be not ashamed.

CAPH.

  • My soul faints for Your salvation: but I hope in Your word.
  • Mine eyes fail for Your word, saying, When will You comfort me?
  • For I am become like a bottle in the smoke; yet do I not forget Your statutes.
  • How many are the days of Your servant? when will You execute judgment on them that persecute me?
  • The proud which are not after Your law have digged pits for me,
  • All Your commandments are faithful: they persecute me wrongfully; help Thou me.
  • They had almost consumed me upon earth; but I forsook not Your precepts.
  • Quicken me after Your lovingkindness; so will I keep the testimony of Your mouth.

LAMED.

  • For ever, O LORD, Your word is settled in heaven.
  • Your faithfulness is unto all generations: You have established the earth, and it abides.
  • They continue this day according to Your ordinances: for all are Your servants.
  • Unless Your law had been my delights, I should then have perished in mine affliction.
  • I will never forget Your precepts: for with them You have quickened me.
  • am Yours, save me; for I have sought Your precepts.
  • The wicked have waited for me to destroy me: but I will consider Your testimonies.
  • I have seen an end of all perfection: but Your commandment is exceeding broad.

MEM.

  • O how love I Your law! it is my meditation all the day.
  • You through Your commandments have made me wiser than mine enemies: for they are ever with me.
  • I have more understanding than all my teachers: for Your testimonies are my meditation.
  • I understand more than the ancients, because I keep Your precepts.
  • I have refrained my feet from every evil way, that I might keep Your word.
  • I have not departed from Your judgments: for You have taught me.
  • How sweet are Your words unto my taste! yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth!
  • Through Your precepts I get understanding: therefore I hate every false way.

NUN.

  • Your word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.
  • I have sworn, and I will perform it, that I will keep Your righteous judgments.
  • I am afflicted very much: quicken me, O LORD, according unto Your word.
  • Accept, I beseech You, the freewill offerings of my mouth, O LORD, and teach me Your judgments.
  • My soul is continually in my hand: yet do I not forget Your law.
  • The wicked have laid a snare for me: yet I erred not from Your precepts.
  • Your testimonies have I taken as an heritage for ever: for they are the rejoicing of my heart.
  • I have inclined mine heart to perform Your statutes alway, even unto the end.

SAMECH.

  • I hate vain thoughts: but Your law do I love.
  • You are my hiding place and my shield: I hope in Your word.
  • Depart from me, you evildoers: for I will keep the commandments of my God.
  • Uphold me according unto Your word, that I may live: and let me not be ashamed of my hope.
  • Hold Thou me up, and I will be safe: and I will have respect unto Your statutes continually.
  • You have trodden down all them that err from Your statutes: for their deceit isfalsehood.
  • You put away all the wicked of the earth like dross: therefore I love Your testimonies.
  • My flesh trembles for fear of You; and I am afraid of Your judgments.

AIN.

  • I have done judgment and justice: leave me not to mine oppressors.
  • Be surety for Your servant for good: let not the proud oppress me.
  • Mine eyes fail for Your salvation, and for the word of Your righteousness.
  • Deal with Your servant according unto Your mercy, and teach me Your statutes.
  • am Your servant; give me understanding, that I may know Your testimonies.
  • It is time for You, LORD, to work: for they have made void Your law.
  • Therefore I love Your commandments above gold; yea, above fine gold.
  • Therefore I esteem all Your precepts concerning all things to be right; and I hate every false way.

PE.

  • Your testimonies are wonderful: therefore does my soul keep them.
  • The entrance of Your words gives light; it gives understanding unto the simple.
  • I opened my mouth, and panted: for I longed for Your commandments.
  • Look Thou upon me, and be merciful unto me, as You used to do unto those that love Your name.
  • Order my steps in Your word: and let not any iniquity have dominion over me.
  • Deliver me from the oppression of man: so will I keep Your precepts.
  • Make Your face to shine upon Your servant; and teach me Your statutes.
  • Rivers of waters run down mine eyes, because they keep not Your law.

TZADDI.

  • Righteous are You, O LORD, and upright are Your judgments.
  • Your testimonies that You have commanded are righteous and very faithful.
  • My zeal has consumed me, because mine enemies have forgotten Your words.
  • Your word is very pure: therefore Your servant loves it.
  • am small and despised: yet do not I forget Your precepts.
  • Your righteousness is an everlasting righteousness, and Your law is the truth.
  • Trouble and anguish have taken hold on me: yet Your commandments are my delights.
  • The righteousness of Your testimonies is everlasting: give me understanding, and I will live.

KOPH.

  • I cried with my whole heart; hear me, O LORD: I will keep Your statutes.
  • I cried unto You; save me, and I will keep Your testimonies.
  • I prevented the dawning of the morning, and cried: I hoped in Your word.
  • Mine eyes prevent the night watches, that I might meditate in Your word.
  • Hear my voice according unto Your lovingkindness: O LORD, quicken me according to Your judgment.
  • They draw nigh that follow after mischief: they are far from Your law.
  • You are near, O LORD; and all Your commandments are truth.
  • Concerning Your testimonies, I have known of old that You have founded them for ever.

RESH.

  • Consider my affliction, and deliver me: for I do not forget Your law.
  • Plead my cause, and deliver me: quicken me according to Your word.
  • Salvation is far from the wicked: for they seek not Your statutes.
  • Great are Your tender mercies, O LORD: quicken me according to Your judgments.
  • Many are my persecutors and mine enemies; yet do I not decline from Your testimonies.
  • I beheld the transgressors, and was grieved; because they kept not Your word.
  • Consider how I love Your precepts: quicken me, O LORD, according to Your lovingkindness.
  • Your word is true from the beginning: and every one of Your righteous judgments endures for ever.

SCHIN.

  • Princes have persecuted me without a cause: but my heart stands in awe of Your word.
  • I rejoice at Your word, as one that finds great spoil.
  • I hate and abhor lying: but Your law do I love.
  • Seven times a day do I praise You because of Your righteous judgments.
  • Great peace have they which love Your law: and nothing will offend them.
  • LORD, I have hoped for Your salvation, and done Your commandments.
  • My soul has kept Your testimonies; and I love them exceedingly.
  • I have kept Your precepts and Your testimonies: for all my ways are before You.

TAU.

  • Let my cry come near before You, O LORD: give me understanding according to Your word.
  • Let my supplication come before You: deliver me according to Your word.
  • My lips will utter praise, when You have taught me Your statutes.
  • My tongue will speak of Your word: for all Your commandments arerighteousness.
  • Let Your hand help me; for I have chosen Your precepts.
  • I have longed for Your salvation, O LORD; and Your law is my delight.
  • Let my soul live, and it will praise You; and let Your judgments help me.
  • I have gone astray like a lost sheep; seek Your servant; for I do not forget Your commandments.
Share your thoughts!

