Tasty Quinoa Salad


Today I made Quinoa (pronounced Keen-wa) for the first time as part of our Father’s Day meal. I followed the recipe on the package and added a few of my own touches =) Here is the basic idea:

Tasty Quinoa Salad

I cooked 2 cups of Quinoa in 4 cups of water. It basically cooks the same way that rice cooks, except that you are supposed to rinse it initially and soak it in warm water for 5 minutes. (I forgot to do that and mine turned out fine). First I brought the water to a boil, then added the Quinoa, then brought it to a boil again and then turned it down to a simmer for 20 minutes.

I then used that entire amount of Quinoa and added the following to it:

1 cup chopped red bell pepper
1/2 cup chopped carrot
1/2 cup chopped broccoli
1/4 cup raisins
2 green onions, chopped
1/4 cup fresh parsley

The dressing:

4 T lemon and/or lime juice
4 1/2 Tablespoons Tamari (soy) sauce
4 cloves minced garlic

This was a little dry for my taste, so I added:

1/8 cup of olive oil
4 Tablespoons of Balsamic vinegar

I think next time I will also add some sliced almonds!

Quinoa Recipe Variation using craisins…from Creative Delites.com

Share your thoughts!

