Tender and Delicious Lamb Roast with Popovers


Last night at our Farmers Market the people next to us were selling fresh lamb, so I decided to purchase my first lamb roast ever.  One of the ladies was kind enough to give me a recipe and instead of our traditional pizza tonight, we had lamb.  It was sooo delicious!

Photo by Becky Luigart-Stayner; Lydia DeGaris-Pursell

Here is the recipe:

I used a 3-4 pound roast

Make a paste/pesto using the following ingredients in a blender:

  • olive oil
  • rosemary
  • basil
  • cilantro
  • parsley
  • fresh minced garlic
  • kosher salt
  • black pepper
  • lemon juice

Rub this onto the roast and refrigerate overnight, or for several hours.

Place the roast onto a rack in a pan so the fat drips into the pan as it melts.  Preheat the oven at the highest temperature and place the lamb roast in the oven for 5 -10 minutes.  Then turn it down to 325º and continue to slow roast for 2-3 more hours or until your meat thermometer reads 140º

I wasn’t sure how my family was going to like this because I have heard that a lot of people don’t like the lamb flavor…  I worried needlessly because they devoured it with raving reviews!  Actually, I made the children stop before it was gone so we have some leftover for sandwiches or leftovers.

I have only made a handful of roasts in my lifetime, but I would say this is among the top  best roasts I have ever made and even among the top best roasts I have ever eaten!!  I think I’m going to look into purchasing a whole lamb so we can have many more roasts!

We had a fresh spinach salad, rice and popovers with ours, but I think potatoes might have been better.

Simple Popovers

1 cup milk
1 cup flour (I used 100% fresh ground soft white wheat)
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 400º. Gently whisk all four ingredients together. (don’t overbeat or they won’t rise properly). Pour into liberally greased muffin pans and bake for 30-40 minutes. Begin checking at 30 minutes… you don’t want them to be overdone!  This makes about 6, I often make 4 times the recipe.

Share your thoughts!

