Last Week Was My Birthday


Birthdays aren’t such a big deal anymore, so I didn’t say anything, but I wanted to use it as a springboard for a post on natural cleaning.

How are those two things connected? My birthday and natural cleaning?

Hmm?

One of my gifts was a set of products for natural cleaning =)

However, I wanted to tell you about my FAVORITE natural cleaning product: Soap Berries.

Soap berries are THE most natural product available. They grow on trees and do not have to be made into anything before they are used as soap and essential oils do.

My favorite use for them is as a natural laundry soap. I put 3 to 5 berries in the cotton drawstring bag that comes with the purchase and soak them in warm water while my washer is filling up. (I have a propane stove, so the tea kettle sits on top and stays warm all the time). After the washer fills, I dump the water and the drawstring bag in with the wet load and close the lid and let it go through the normal cycle. Sometimes (if I remember) I will remove the soap berries before the rinse cycle to extend their use. These 5 berries will last for 5 loads or more. One great thing about using Soap Berries is that they naturally soften clothing so there is no need to use fabric softener. One less chemical and one less expense. =)
I purchase mine from Naturoli, and if you decide to purchase through them, I will get a small commission. I haven’t tried any other brands, but I’ve heard some of them are sticky or small or have seeds in them. I have been 100% please with the ones I purchased through Naturoli. (Their customer service has been excellent and shipping very prompt too!)

For more information regarding the many uses of these Soap Berries, or Soap Nuts as they are often called, or to purchase some of your own, visit this Soap Nuts link.

One thought on “Last Week Was My Birthday

Share your thoughts!

