Tasty Tuesday ~ Homemade Bagels


My son, Carpenter, is the breakfast cook during the week and recently he decided to make bagels from scratch.  I was a bit skeptical, as I have never attempted bagels myself, but these were very good!

Here is the recipe he used.

  • 4.25 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 packages active dry yeast
  • 1.5 cups warm water
  • 3 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon salt
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar
  1. Combine 1.5 cups of flour and yeast.
  2. Combine water, first sugar and salt.  Pour over flour mixture.  Mix on low for 30 seconds, scraping bowl constantly.  Beat 3 minutes on high.  Add flour and stir with spoon.
  3. Turn onto board and knead the remainging flour in untiil smooth and elastic. (8 minutes)
  4. Divide into 24 and Shape into bagels.
  5. Refrigerate overnite on bread pan.
  6. In the morning, let them rise a little bit and then boil as many as you can fit in your pot (with the second sugar added to the water) and boil for 1.5 minutes on each side.
  7. Place on baking stone and bake at 375º for 25-30 minutes or until golden.

Taken from BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS COMPLETE STEP BY STEP COOK BOOK

2 thoughts on “Tasty Tuesday ~ Homemade Bagels

  1. Elisheva says:

    Hi,
    I have just been reading quite a few posts on the forum which I have found very interesting and let me tell you I just love your forum already. I have also read your testimony too and in some ways I can see similarities here between your story and mine.

    I also have a husband who is a non believer and he is actually an atheist but he allows me and encourages me to go to church and even weekly bible study groups though I dont always attend these.

    I am Torah observant and as yet I have a lot to learn. My husband knows I dont eat meat or shellfish and is totally fine with me on this.

    I would love to be involved in your prayer group that you have set up, would this be possible please?

    I look forward to hearing from you.
    Blessings and shalom
    Elisheva

    • karebiz says:

      Hi Elisheva,

      Very nice to meet you!

      I would love to have you join the prayer group. If you go to the page and register, I will be able to give you permission to join. 🙂

      Most sincerely,

      Kare

Share your thoughts!

