Old Friends and New Friends


This week I was reminded again of the value of friendship.

First, a treasured friend of mine from 2002, whom I have not spoken to for quite a while, called and we had a wonderful time catching up.  Eight years ago she was traveling through my state on vacation, bought some of my soap at a boutique and then called to re-order.  We have been friends ever since and I have gained so much from having her as a friend.

Then today I took a new friend out for coffee.  She is soon to be my sister-in-law and because we don’t live in the same town, I haven’t really had a chance to get to know her as well as I wanted to.  I really enjoyed our coffee time and look forward to many years of friendship with her.

Unfortunately having special friendships isn’t something that everyone is blessed with, but I hope each of you has friends you treasure.  If you do, don’t forget to take the opportunity to let them know! =)

Are you looking for a way to find more friends?

My two daughters and I have a plan that we began this fall.  Every week, usually on Sunday afternoon, we invite either a lady or group of ladies in our neighborhood or nearby (with the exception of a few who are out of town) over for tea.  We set the table a little fancier than usual, serve our favorite teas in the treasured tea-sets that were handed down from my aunt and offer some special baked goodies.  So far we have had 4 of these tea-parties and thoroughly enjoyed them… we have had a neighbor lady  come whose children are grown and gone, and 3 times we had mothers with their young daughters.  A tea party fits all ages and it’s a great way to get to know people better!

Share your thoughts!

