Cheesy Broccoli Soup and Butterhorn Rolls


For Artist’s birthday this year, she requested  Broccoli soup and a friend of mine suggested that I make my butterhorn rolls to go with it.  I found the recipe online and made a small change to it.  It was so yummy I wanted to share it here with you!  I did 4 times this recipe for 9 people and several people had second helpings, but we still had about 4 servings leftover.

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • 3-4 cups fresh broccoli florets
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1/2 cup half & half
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 cups cheddar cheese, shredded

Rinse broccoli.  Put enough water in the pot to cover the bottom of the pan.  Add broccoli and salt to taste.  Cook over medium until tender.  I cooked it until the water was nearly gone, then I used the water as part of the water in the soup instead of draining it.  This added back vitamins that were cooked out of the broccoli =

In 3 quart saucepan melt butter, add flour, salt & pepper to taste, then slowly add milk, half & half and broth.  Cook on low-medium, stirring constantly and allow it to thicken.

Add cheese.  Stir until melted.

Add broccoli (I put some of the broccoli in a blender and minced it) and heat thoroughly.

My special addition was about 1/4 pound of Pastrami.  It added a delicious flavor and was just enough not to overwhelm it.  We served this with shredded cheese that could be added on top and the rolls below

Grandma’s Butterhorn Rolls

  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 4 1/2 cups flour (I have substituted anywhere from 1 to all of the cups with wheat flour and had great success)
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1-2 Tablespoons year dissovled in 1/4 cup water with 1/2 teaspoon of sugar
  • 3 well beaten eggs

Mix sugar, salt, milk & butter.  Add 2 cups of flour & beat till smooth.  Add yeast mixture and mix well.  Add eggs one at a time and mix well after each.  Add remaining flour and beat well.  This will be a sticky dough, which is the secret to these rolls. Refrigerate in tightly covered greased bowl overnite or so (if I need it the same day, I sometimes put it in the freezer for less time.)

After the dough is thoroughly chilled, roll it out (if it is too sticky to roll out, I just keep flouring the rolling pin and the top of the dough) and allow to rise for 3 hours or until light and fluffy.  (If I am in a hurry I may skip this first rising) Divide in 3 parts.  Roll in 9″ circle and brush lightly with melted butter.  Cut each circle like a pizza or a pie (12 sections).  Begin rolling from the wide end toward the center of the circle ending with the smallest part tucked under the roll.  Cover and let rise until light and fluffy.  Bake at 350º for 15 minutes or until a light golden brown.

This is my precious Grandmother’s recipe.  She is no longer with us, but I think of her every time I make these rolls.  She was a prayer warrior and inspiring example of a woman who loves the Lord with all her heart.  She was such a treasure that when she was in her 90s, the young people at her church asked her to come and speak to them.  What an inspiration!  She is missed.

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Broccoli Soup and Butterhorn Rolls

    • karebiz says:

      I made a different recipe last year and didn’t care for it, but this one I really liked! Let me know if you try it and how you like it =)

Share your thoughts!

