Carrot-Ginger Soup


I’m not big on cooked carrots.  I like them raw.  I like them carmelized with a roast, or hidden in a stew, but that’s about it.  However, when my very dear friend “A” gave me a bite of her Carrot-Ginger Soup last night, I had to get the recipe.  I made it tonight and mine is definitely not as good as hers was, but I will perfect it. =)  I think it’s because I only put in a teaspoon of ginger.  At any rate, I thought I would share it with you…

Carrot-Ginger Soup

  • 1 large sliced yellow onion
  • 4-6 cloves garlic
  • 5 pounds peeled, sliced carrots
  • 2-3 cups water seasoned with chicken broth
  • 2-4 Tablespoons of fresh ginger
  • 2 cans of coconut milk

Sweat the onion. (which means to cook it on VERY low in a little bit of oil with the lid on the pan until it is clear.  Do not brown) Boil the carrots, onion and garlic in the broth until the carrots are soft.  Puree.  Add 2-4 Tablespoons of fresh ginger and 2 cans of coconut milk.  Boil and serve. The recipe doesn’t say to use salt, but I added 2-3 teaspoons of Celtic Sea Salt.

We served ours with buttered Challah bread.  Yum! =P

PS I made my own coconut milk with grated coconut I purchased in bulk from Azure Standard. Here is the recipe I used:  Making Coconut Milk

Share your thoughts!

