Tracks in the Snow


This morning as I was walking to the barn to give the bucklings their bottle feeding, I noticed some tracks in the snow.  Little pleasures like that are welcome on a cold, snowy day. =) 

I’m guessing it was a pheasant or two, but I will do a little research and see if I can find out for sure.  The tracks went in and out for a couple hundred feet, weaving in and out, crossing back over previous tracks, rarely going in a straight line.  If I were well-learned in these things they probably tell a story, but I have only my imagination.

It made me think of our lives and how we leave tracks behind us.  Our tracks have a story to tell as well.  We need to live our lives so that others can follow our tracks as we follow our Messiah.

UPDATE:

My son, Biologist, says he has seen some Horned Larks, otherwise called Lark Sparrows on our property the last few days.  Here is what they look like:

And someone else took a picture of their tracks at this birding website.  What do you think?  Is it the same bird?

One thought on “Tracks in the Snow

  1. Emily says:

    Snow! That must mean you are keeping those kids warm. 🙂 (You must be busy.) The tracks are beautiful. The bird photo is cut off however.

Share your thoughts!

