Green Blessings


Today we had some nicer weather sandwiched between the rainy days, so I decided to go take a peek at the garden beds.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that several of our herbs came back on their own – chives, oregano, sage and what I think is lavendar (or possibly thyme – I’ll have to taste the leaves to find out.)  How exciting!  We transplanted the chives to the front where it can grow as wide as it wants.  I will transplant the lavendar to a large wash tub pot on the deck where it can share with the chamomile and they can both grow and flourish.

I also saw that the raspberries and strawberries are doing very well and the elderberry bush that I planted last year is coming back up.  I thought the deer had killed it!

Also, I grew some leeks and wasn’t sure how to harvest them last fall, so I just left them in the garden and mulched it with hay.  They are coming back up again and looking great!

Today I planted several mint plants over by the outbuildings.  Mint comes back every year and spreads, so it can have that entire area!  I have one blackberry bush to plant, so will have to consider the best place to put it and watch it multiply as well.

Next week I plan to put our herb and vegetable starts into the raised beds…  June  can still be cold around here, but is usually pretty safe from frost… usually =)  I’m excited to begin the gardening phase of the year again!

When we moved here 12 years ago, we started with prairie land, not one tree or bush, an old discarded garden and a bed of tulips and daffodils.  This year, we have a tiny spruce, a lilac bush, violas, a 3 year old self-pollinating apple tree (with 3 types of apples), peppermint, chamomile, chives, strawberries, raspberries and blackberries.  Plus 5 raised beds.  It didn’t come easy though!  One year we planted 3 quaking aspens and a serviceberry tree.  The deer ate the aspen to the ground and the gophers ate the roots of the serviceberry tree.  Another year we planted quakies again and this time the hoppers ate all the leaves.  We planted two lilac bushes and only one made it…  All of this makes our apple tree and lilac bush even more special!  We also have tried two other times to grow raspberries, unsuccessfully and our first garden was out front, using the plot from the previous owners.  It was a constant war between the weeds, hoppers, gophers, deer and us.  They won.  =)

This summer I hope to add more evergreens, blackberries, some grape vines and maybe some asparagus and rhubarb.  It’s a matter of finding the best place to grow things where the elements cooperate, the deer don’t bother them and they are convenient enough to water.

Many of you live in places where trees abound and everyone has fruit trees.  Count yourself blessed!  I hope you are able to use that fruit to the fullest!  When I was about 11 years old, we lived in a neighborhood that had a railroad track nearby.  Wild asparagus and the most delicious wild grapes grew around there and I remember to this day how much I enjoyed that!

I truly believe there is something therapeutic about gardening.  I hope you are able to have some garden therapy this summer!

2 thoughts on “Green Blessings

  1. Mikki says:

    Kare.. I Love reading your posts. How fun to have a garden!! I planted carrots, radishes and tomatoes for the first time this year with my son. I found a place that sells organic seeds!! Have a Blessed Day!! Mikki

    • karebiz says:

      Mik! I didn’t realize you were reading my blog =) So glad you are enjoying it! I think of you often… do you still have your same phone number? Just wait till you taste those tomatoes! It’s almost like eating candy =)

Share your thoughts!

