The Way


For the past several weeks I have been studying about those who are called out, sometimes called the ekklesia, also called the Body of the Messiah, the community and the assembly – their purpose, their walk, etc.  This study has taken me to Scripture, Tim Hegg’s website, other websites and some email correspondence. I am so far finding it a very interesting study =)  I will share more later…

I have also been giving a lot of thought to the signs of the times and talking to my sons and daughters about being prepared to face the last days, death and eternity.  There are so many theories about how things will play out in the end…

  •  Will we be here during the time of tribulation?
  • Is heaven “somewhere out there”?

There is much to learn about how the Hebrews thought in regards to these things, and once again it sheds a new light on Scripture.  To me, it’s like when I first needed glasses. Everything was blurry but I didn’t even know it until I put on my new glasses and then I could see how much I had been missing all that time.  I’m having so much fun wearing these new glasses and seeing the things that were hidden from me before I used the glasses. =)

Recently I began to write down The Way as I see it in Scripture.  I am trying to write it using terms that have not been watered down, and words that can be defined with strong and precise meanings.

One of my original goals in posting Scripture on this blog was to show first of all how mankind was created perfectly in order to enjoy the presence of YHWH and how beautiful that must have been with no shame and perfect fellowship with the Creator.  But then how sin came into the world, how it has affected us by separating us from His presence.   And then to show how YHWH provided a Way for us to be able to come back into His presence.  We have seen so far that the effects of sin are far reaching and sin, disobeying YHWH’s instructions, takes many forms.

The first sin had to do with food, eating something that Elohim forbade, not following His instructions. Genesis 3

The first blood was shed when YHWH made the coverings of animal skins for Adam and Eve. Genesis 3:21

Although we are not given the details, at some point after Eve sinned, a sacrificial system was introduced.

The next recorded sin is Cain trying to come to Elohim in his own way, sacrificing what and how he wanted to sacrifice and not what was required.  Again, not following YHWH’s instructions. Genesis 4:3-4

His way was not accepted and his heart found anger and hatred, followed by murder. Genesis 4:5-7

And on it goes for the first 2000 years, with the sons of God sinning, violence, mankind being corrupted, etc.

After 2000 years only 8 people are not corrupt and the rest are destroyed by flood.  No wonder Elohim was sorry that He made mankind.

Yet our will to do things our own way and not follow the instructions of YHWH is soon to follow when we see mankind’s pride at the tower of Babel.  Genesis 11

That is as far as we have come in the first chapters of Genesis, but we will be continuing the love story between mankind and Elohim in the weeks and months to come.

Now, back to The Way. =)  From the very first sin we see that blood is sacrificed, but the process is not explained in Scripture until many years later when Moses writes down all of YHWH’s instructions.  I think it is safe to assume that this was not completely new information given to Moses, since there were sacrifices made by Cain, Abel, Noah, Abraham, etc.  However, during the 200 years in slavery to Egypt, a pagan nation, a lot of things could have been forgotten.  (think about how much has been forgotten in the last 200 years in our country) So, the specifics are written down by Moses.  And it is very specific.  What type of animal is acceptable, who makes the sacrifice, where it is made, how often, for what sins,  etc.  The main point for this post being, a perfect blood sacrifice is required for the atonement of sin.

So, with all of this in mind, how are we, a sinful, selfish and lawless people, able to come into the presence of the One Who is Set-Apart from all others, the Creator of the World, the Most High God?

1. The first thing is to RECOGNIZE:

  • YHWH IS the Creator, the Ruler of the Universe, the most High Elohim Genesis 14:22
  • He is high and lifted up, set apart and perfect.  Isaiah 6:1, Hebrews 7:26
  • Mankind was originally created in perfection and enjoyed being in His presence Genesis 1:26-31
  • We are now unable to be in His presence because our sin (lawlessness, not following His instructions) separates us from Him.  Isaiah 59:2
  • We have sinned, missed the mark, fallen short of  His standard, disobeyed His instructions. 1 John 3:4

What is the standard?
It is easy enough to say we must obey the Torah, YHWH’s instruction, perfectly.  That sounds pretty cut and dry.  It would include the 10 commandments, and other commandments.  However,  it also means loving your neighbor as yourself, loving YHWH with all your heart, soul and mind, loving and praying for your enemies, not lusting after women, not being angry with your brother, etc.   Matthew 5:21-48  This is a different matter and not so easily dismissed.  These things deal more with out heart and not just our actions.   These are the weightier parts of the Law (Torah) that the Messiah refers to when speaking to the Pharisees. (Matthew 23:23) The hidden man of the heart.  When these are brought to our attention, we can see that  keeping the Commandments  is not enough and we can never attain salvation through our own perfection, obedience or goodness.  We all fall short. Romans 3:23

2. The REQUIREMENT for our lawlessness and to restore our fellowship with Him is a perfect blood sacrifice ~  no other Way is acceptable. Leviticus 9:7, Hebrews 10:18

3. The PROVISION

The serpent in the wilderness, some of the animal sacrifices, the story of Isaac, Jonah, etc… these are all pointing to the Perfect Sacrifice in the promised Messiah and Redeemer and all is perfectly fulfilled in Yeshua, the spotless Lamb (John 1:29), the only begotten (not created and with the same Divine qualities as YHWH) Son of YHWH (1 John 4:9), who perfectly kept the Torah and then spilled His precious blood as the atonement sacrifice (Romans 3:25) for our sin.  Such love!

4. We must REALIZE:

  • Not just knowing, but even anguish over our wicked sinfulness,our missing the mark.  When we truly see Him for Who He is, our eyes are opened to our own frailty and how underserving we are Luke 5:8
  • There is nothing we can do to meet His standards and follow His instructions perfectly or to provide our own Salvation.  Nothing. Ever.

5. BELIEVE, CALL ON HIS NAME:

How is our belief different? These things the devils are not willing to do:

      • REPENT:
        Turn from your sin, your way of life, friendship with the world & satan’s hold Acts 8:22, 2 Corinthians 5:17
      • SURRENDER:
        Surrender your life to the Master completely, become His slave – you no longer have a will of your own, He makes all the decisions  Jude 1:1
      • TRUST:
        Trust Him with your life 2 Chronicles 16:9
      • OBEY:
      • He that says “I know Him” and does not keep His commandments, is a liar  1 John 2:4a

6. BAPTISM:
Identify with Him before the world through immersion baptism Acts 2:38

7. DISCIPLESHIP:
We become disciples of Yeshua – a disciple imitates everything, every action… it’s a complete lifestyle.  For more information about what it means to be a disciple, watch “In the Dust of the Rabbi” or visit Ray Vander Laan’s website.

If you were captured by athiests and put on trial, would there be enough evidence to convict you of being a disciple of  Yeshua?

8. Make DISCIPLES:
His last command to us is to preach the gospel and make disciples of others, teaching them to observe His commands.    Matthew 28:19; Mark 16:15; Luke 24:47; Acts 1:8

7 thoughts on “The Way

  1. bkolisha says:

    Have you e4er considered that the fruit of the tree of knowledge of good and evil was not food at all? Appetites don’t have to be just for food but sex is also an appetite. Look in I Thess 4:3 that the will of God is that we abstain from sexual fornication. Just a thought to entertain; God said He would greatly multiply her pain in conception. Hmm. conception does not hurt but is it possible He gave her one heir in addition to that which the corruptor brought in, Cain? She says when she births (and the belief is possibly twins for the word does not say Adam knew her again, in the biblical sense); she states she has gotten an ISH not just a man. The accepted popular translation is Abel, “havel” means short, like a whisper referring to his life being shortened. If you break it up into Hebrew parts, it says Av El…God is my Father. He was one of the first sons of God in Adam’s line. Not THE SON OFGOD, but a righteous one and possibly our first martyr for living a life of obedience to His Father. These are just thoughts. Please don’t let any of it offend you. That is not my intention, but I believe you are searching for truth and I applaud that and so I am sharing what He has shown me. It is not God’s Word, but I believe it is in His Word. Look Again!

    • Kare says:

      You have given me much to ponder and at this time I do not have a lot of opportunity to do extra study… But I will :). I always love a new perspective so I can be a Berean

  2. bkolisha says:

    I thank you Kare for getting back to me so soon. It is a blessing and encouragement to see one who studies for themselves. I know by looking at your blog that you have little opportunity for new studies, but check in when you can and thanks for doing so today. May the Spirit of God lead you to all truth and bless your life!

  3. bkolisha says:

    I did want to say looking at your topics on your site that it reminds me of my own life. I now live off grid in the mountains and do some wildcrafting with what I learned in essential oils and growing in a passive solar solarium attached to the front of my house. My grandkids live with me as well as my daughter. My son just graduated from Engineering but we homeschooled for 14 years. I got them free college for the first year and my daughter is now working online for her Vet Tech certification.
    I have done it all…Mary Kay business, A Canning business of Salsas, Jams and Whole Grain Breads (taught homeschoolers) and love cooking.
    I came to the Lord when my daughter lost her immune system (long story) but it brought me to the Lord. She would receive her healing, although there are scars and I would become a teacher of the Word. It is how the Lord found me and reading your site has brought back so many wonderful memories. I came into Hebraic Roots through my Beloved who has recently passed away. He had been a pastor, raised Catholic and ordained Baptist. But when he began to practice Hebraically and to teach, they made him leave. He continued through the years to do as God led him. He was an Italian German Jew by heritage but his testimony was purely as a son of the living God. He’s gone home now, but I promised to finish the testimony God gave us and so my blog moves forward, sometimes painfully, but with the heart of a woman who was loved by a man, who gave his life daily, humbly but never afraid to go against the status quo, if the Word spoke otherwise. Thank you and keep doing what you are doing. I am sure you know, it has it’s blessings!

    • Kare says:

      What fun! Thank you so much for sharing with me :). I do hope you will continue to share your thoughts and comments even though I may not respond immediately! I love to midrash!

Share your thoughts!

