Honor Your Father and Mother


Yesterday, while my 10 and 12 year old girls and I were thrift-shopping, I had the privilege of receiving one of the highest compliments I could receive.  A retired business man approached me and commented on my daughters – their manners, their appearance, their beauty, etc.  He proceeded to compare them to todays youth and the sharp contrast he saw there.  I was honored.  We talked for a while about education, morality, christianity and more and when the girls and I got back in the car, I thanked them for honoring me by their behavior and most of all for bringing pleasure to YHWH.  What a blessing!  The thing is, as I observed them while he was talking, they were just being themselves.  Looking for modest skirts to buy and asking the store owner questions.

If you are anything like me, you wonder from time to time how you are doing in raising your children.  I don’t like to compare them to other youth, but rather to the standard of Scripture.  That is a very high standard, so I am continually seeing things that need improvement and I needed that encouragement yesterday.  That is one of my goals, for our family, our children, to be a light to the world.  To draw people toward the Messiah, to reflect Him in our lives.  I told the man what a blessing they were and that I was thankful to God for these precious daughters He gave me.  He gets the credit for who they are… after all, He created them!

2 thoughts on “Honor Your Father and Mother

  1. Schell Sadowski says:

    I have gotten the same type of response about my 14 year old daughter. I am humbled, honored and blessed by Yahweh in her. I jokingly (sort of!) tell people that when I grow up, I want to be just like her! Honestly, her (and your daughters’) effect on people is a statement of Yahweh’s mercy on us and instills in me a greater urgency and desire to cling to Him and be a better person for His glory. Thank you for sharing!

    • karebiz says:

      Hi Schell, ( I really like your name!)

      Thanks for the comment. It is so humbling, isn’t it? That YHVH can go beyond our limited humanity and our faults and bring glory to Himself through our children. =) Hallelu YAH!

      Kare

Share your thoughts!

