I was thinking


Recently, as I was driving home, I was thinking about sin.

Among believers, it is common to say that adultery is sin.  A man I was having a conversation with (the one who complimented my daughters) was telling me why he left his “church” and doesn’t attend anywhere right now.  He had discovered that the pastor, or priest (not sure what his denomination calls them) had been sleeping with a married woman he was counselling.  This man knew that was wrong.  So that got me thinking.  Why today do Christians and even many others say that adultery is sin?  What is the basis?

Here are the possible answers:

  1. everyone knows it is wrong
  2. it is condemned in the Bible
  3. my church teaches that it is wrong
  4. it just seems like it would be wrong
  5. a few people might say it is because it is one of the 10 commandments
The thing is, it IS one of the 10 commandments, which are part of God (YHWH’s) Law or Torah.
So then I was wondering, if we are no longer under the law and that means we don’t have to obey the law anymore,  then why ARE they obeying that commandment, among many others if they don’t have to?
For those who say we DO have to obey the 10 commandments, just not the rest of the law, then why don’t they keep the 7th day Sabbath that God appointed as set apart?
I know some would say it is because the Spirit of YHWH has replaced the 10 commandments and the Law, so then my question is, if in fact the Spirit IS YHWH (and it is), then wouldn’t that Spirit uphold the entire Law, since He gave it in the first place?
Others have said it’s because we only obey the commandments that are repeated in the “New Testament”.  I can’t go along with that.  Beastiality is not repeated in the “New Testament”, so it’s now ok?
I guess I am still trying to understand why those who claim to love and know YHWH do not want to keep His commandments?
John’s gospel, chapter 14

15If you love Me, you will keep My commandments. 16And I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Helper,f to be with you forever, 17even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees Him nor knows Him. You know Him, for He dwells with you and will be in you.

18“I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19Yet a little while and the world will see Me no more, but you will see Me. Because I live, you also will live. 20In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in Me, and I in you. 21Whoever has My commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves Me. And he who loves Me will be loved by My Father, and I will love him and manifest Myself to him.” 22Judas (not Iscariot) said to Him, “Master, how is it that You will manifest Yourself to us, and not to the world?”23Yeshua answered him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word, and My Father will love him, and we will come to Him and make our home with him. 24Whoever does not love Me does not keep My words. And the word that you hear is not Mine but the Father’s who sent me. (Yeshua speaks the Father’s commandments/words)

Johns 1st letter

3And by this we know that we have come to know Him, if we keep His commandments. 4Whoever says “I know Him” but does not keep His commandments is a liar, and the truth is not in him, 5but whoever keeps His word, in him truly the love of God is perfected. By this we may know that we are in Him: 6whoever says he abides in Him ought to walk in the same way in which He walked.

John’s second letter

4I rejoiced greatly to find some of your children walking in the truth, just as we were commanded by the Father. 5And now I ask you, dear lady—not as though I were writing you a new commandment, but the one we have had from the beginning—that we love one another.* 6And this is love, that we walk according to His commandments; this is the commandment, just as you have heard from the beginning, so that you should walk in it.

*On this one commandment and the command to love Elohim, depend or hang ALL the Law and the Prophets – says our Messiah, as recorded by Matthew in chapter 22 and verse 40.

Share your thoughts!

