Are the Beatles Right? All You Need is Love?


Everywhere I turn, people are trying to tell me that now that my Messiah came and showed me how to perfectly obey the instructions in Torah, I don’t have to worry about obeying all those instructions any more.  All I have to do is love.

What exactly does that mean?

The hippy movement got it right?

So, I can throw away the 10 commandments and just love everyone?

Does the definition of sin then become as simple as not loving?  In a word, yes, but in reality, it has always been that way, it was simply clarified by the Messiah.

Where is the standard then for how we are to behave if  YHWHs instructions are no longer our guide?

Better yet, what does it mean to love YHWH with all our heart and love our neighbor as ourselves?

If we take a look at the words Yeshua said in Matthew 22:36-40, He is saying the GREATEST commands are to love because all the other commands hang on the two commands to either love YHWH or love mankind.  In other words, when we love YHWH and mankind perfectly, it will be by keeping the commandments.  We won’t worship other gods, we won’t misuse His name, we will keep His 7th Day Set Apart, we will not lie, we won’t commit adultery, we won’t steal, we won’t murder, we won’t covet, and so on.  All of these things are part of loving perfectly, they demonstrate love through our actions.

On the other hand, that also means everything we do that is not love, is sin.  So ultimately, just like in Matthew 5, where Yeshua points to the mind and heart that sins – in telling us to love, He is making it even more obvious how difficult it is to follow His instructions.  Loving is not instead of OR easier than keeping the 10 commandments, if you truly understand what love is.

3 thoughts on “Are the Beatles Right? All You Need is Love?

  1. Emily says:

    ♥ Love this post! ♥ …and now that song will play in my head for the rest of the day. 😛
    I do agree, all you need is love.
    But I came to a point in life where I was like, what is love? TRUE love that is. How can I say I love Him with all my heart, soul and mind or love my children if I don’t know what this love looks like. What does The Creator say love is?
    What an awesome study that was!
    His Word is so precious, so omnipotent that it amazes me everyday!
    What an amazing God we serve!!!

    • karebiz says:

      Emily, Thank you so much for all your encouraging comments. =) We have been watching/listening to Jim Staley from Passion for Truth ministry in the mornings and today was about “The Damage of Evil Speech” – which is all about truly loving your neighbor… POWERFUL sermon!

      • Emily says:

        Ah, he has a gift in bringing points across. Perhaps we will take a look at that one. Thanks for sharing.

Share your thoughts!

