What About Gluten?


In the past few years I have met a lot of people who have to be gluten free, dairy free and/or with many food allergies. It was hard for me to understand, but didn’t seem to affect me very much personally, so I didn’t pay too much attention, except to get a yummy gluten-free recipe from time to time… and I didn’t see any reason to make changes in our family…

As time went on, I met more and more people in the gluten-free category and they would post their findings on fb… health tips, facts, etc.  I also met someone who began to share details of the health changes that took place in their family after going 0rganic and giving up gluten. We are mostly 0rganic anyway, but the more I learned about gluten, the more curious I became. Finally the day came that I decided we would do an experiment in our family. Some of us were experiencing symptoms that could be gluten related (asthma, migraines, bloating), so I asked for volunteers to give up gluten for 6 months and see if there was a difference. 3 out of 6 who are living in our house will be taking part… Makes cooking and eating out a bit tricky, but that’s ok.

It has been a little over a week and I can already tell a difference in my own digestion. Will it take some getting used to? Absolutely. Do I miss wheat? For sure. But I have been told that it will pass and soon I will no longer have cravings for wheat products. Meanwhile, it is a great opportunity to practice self control. =)

Along with giving up gluten, we are also eliminating c0rn, s0y and beet sugar in all forms. For those of you who don’t know this, presently in our country 80-95% of these three items produced is G M 0, which includes most condiments and prepared foods, and even meat and dairy, who are fed a largely c0rn and s0y diet and given h0rm0ne injections… It is affecting plants and killing wildlife, bees, insects and humans, especially harmful to babies and children… I heard that even 0rganic has been compromised. This is even more difficult than giving up gluten because these ingredients are in EVERYTHING! I have included some articles below if you want to do some research.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wnlTYFKBg18 (the best one)
http://www.nutritionresearchcenter.org/healthnews/is-gluten-behind-your-health-problems

Asthma is linked to gluten, study finds (and so did I)

http://www.celiaccentral.org/research-news/migraines-linked-to-celiac-disease-and-gluten-sensitivity-7959/
http://paleodietlifestyle.com/11-ways-gluten-and-wheat-can-damage-your-health/

I have some gluten free recipes already on my Simply Delicious page and will be adding more!

Share your thoughts!

