What a week!


Actually several weeks…

For some time I have been on a quest to deepen my prayer life, learn what it really means to be filled with the Spirit and seek it, know exactly what part I can and should play in spiritual warfare and discover the gifts that the Spirit has imparted or wants to impart to me.

One tool that has been instrumental on this quest, was the book “Estelle” by Jim Tharp.  A friend of mine loaned it to me this spring. I would say it is somewhere between a love story, an action packed story and a manual on prayer and being filled with the Spirit.  It is based on the life of Jim’s mother. After reading the book, I noticed in the back it was talking about a School of Prayer by this same man, Jim Tharp.  So I inquired about it and… last week I had the privilege of attending!  Powerful!  Having grown up in very conservative circles, I have always been afraid of the Spirit – of speaking in tongues, of supernatural healings, of anything unusual.  Over the last 10 years or so, I have been gradually softening in this area as I’ve seen and read of things that could not be explained any other way. (Heavenly Man, Enemy God, Brother Andrew, etc)  I have been realizing in the last 3 years that just like the “Law” was not done away, also the gifts of the Spirit have not been done away.  It is part of YHVH and His Word not changing.  It’s not about dispensations.  It’s not about different ages.  It’s about an ETERNAL, UNCHANGING Creator Who is just as powerful as He has always been, Who still works the same way He always has, and Who still requires the same obedience from His people.  What a sense of confidence this provides us.  We don’t have to argue about which Scripture applies to us, or what was only for certain times… we can leave all the pages intact and all the words on the pages and take them to heart.

I also began the Nehemiah Prayer Challenge, which you can read about at http://NehemiahPrayerChallenge.com

Then yesterday I found the following two videos:

In the midst of all this was the Feast of Shavuot (Pentecost), which is all about the Spirit of YHVH.  Talk about an intense course on the Spirit!  I am overwhelmed by all I have been learning!  It has been amazing and wonderful!  The farther down this road on THE WAY that I go, the more I see how much I don’t know.  I love every new step I take and every new lesson He teaches me and every new thing He reveals and I just want to know MORE.  MORE ways to please Him.  MORE ways to know Him.  MORE ways to praise Him.

The extra bonus is, we have had two new families join our fellowship in the last month, and both families are of the same mind as the other 5 families…     It is so marvelous when the Spirit indwells believers and brings them to the same conclusions and they find each other and come together as the Body of Messiah to meet together.  Is that not what we are to seek?  To be likeminded?  Especially in matters of the Faith!  We are all in different places on our journey.  Some have grown more in one area and others in other areas.  But we are like iron sharpening iron.  The best part is that we all desire to be teachable and we have put aside our preconceived ideas and opened our hearts to be taught from Scripture without the doctrines of men infiltrating.  We are not there to judge each other in areas where we differ.  That is the job of the Spirit.  If each one is seeking Truth with a humble heart, His voice will be heard.  I have NEVER seen this on this level before in ANY place I have gathered with believers.  It is only possible by His Spirit and as long as we allow Him to be present in our lives.  I pray that this continues to be true.

The following verses express what we have together:

Philippians 2:2 – Fulfil ye my joy, that ye be likeminded, having the same love, [being] of one accord, of one mind.

1 Peter 3:8 – Finally, [be ye] all of one mind, having compassion one of another, love as brethren, [be] pitiful, [be] courteous:

1 Corinthians 1:10 – Now I beseech you, brethren, by the name of our Master Yeshua the Messiah, that ye all speak the same thing, and [that] there be no divisions among you; but [that] ye be perfectly joined together in the same mind and in the same judgment.

2 Corinthians 13:11 – Finally, brethren, farewell. Be perfect, be of good comfort, be of one mind, live in peace; and the God of love and peace shall be with you.

Philippians 1:27 – Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of the Messiah: that whether I come and see you, or else be absent, I may hear of your affairs, that ye stand fast in one spirit, with one mind striving together for the faith of the gospel;

Ephesians 4:3 – Endeavouring to keep the unity of the Spirit in the bond of peace.

Romans 15:6 – That ye may with one mind [and] one mouth glorify God, even the Father of our Master Yeshua the Messiah.

Acts 4:32a – And the multitude of them that believed were of one heart and of one soul:

Romans 14:19 – Let us therefore follow after the things which make for peace, and things wherewith one may edify another.

Romans 15:5 – Now the God of patience and consolation grant you to be likeminded one toward another according to Yeshua the Messiah:

Romans 12:16 – [Be] of the same mind one toward another. Mind not high things, but condescend to men of low estate. Be not wise in your own conceits.

Acts 2:1-47 – And when the day of Pentecost was fully come, they were all with one accord in one place.  

Hallelu Yah!!

Share your thoughts!

