Promoting a Lie


I am appalled at the number of believers this year who are participating in Hallowe’en.  It shows me where our country and more importantly the Body of Messiah has gone in the past year.  Maybe I am just more aware of it than I have been in the past, but I have been avoiding pagan celebrations for 3 years now and some of these folks are what I thought were more solid believers.  It makes me heart sick.  Especially since Hallowe’en is one of the more obvious evil days.  Oh Father, how long will you withhold your wrath?

When it comes to Xmas, if we are truly honest with ourselves, we must admit that promoting it as the birth of Messiah is really a lie and a coverup.  Certainly those who stand behind the pulpits are aware of the history of Xmas and where it came from.  And with the internet, the average person has much more exposure to the truth of the pagan celebrations.  Very little room for ignorance.

Just what is it about Xmas that is so important that we can’t give it up?

Is it pride?

“Everyone will think I’m legalistic.”

“They will wonder why I’ve done it all these years and now I’m not.”

Is it selfishness?

“I love the food, the lights, the “feeling”, the “spirit of xmas”, the parties, the family time, the gifts…”

(are all these things more important than pleasing our Creator?)

Is it stubbornness?

“I don’t care about the pagan history of December 25, that’s not what it means to ME.”

“God understands. Times have changed. ”

“all the pagan things have now been redeemed and are no longer wrong”

(what???)

“If I want to celebrate His birthday on the wrong day and use pagan practices, He doesn’t care. He used to care, but He has changed His mind about it.”

(Really? )

Is it fear?

“My family will think I’m too good for them. They will mock me.”

“My friends won’t understand. They will talk about me.”

Is it manipulation/rationalization?

“We have redeemed xmas.”

“The Church Fathers and/or Constantine instituted xmas and that overrides Moses”

(can man redeem something YHWH calls an abomination?)

It is ignorance?

Maybe, but word is getting out quickly… it is our DUTY to study with an open mind and see what YHWH has to say about it, not what MAN has to say.

Think about it.

I ran across yet another example in Scripture of someone who wanted to choose their own way to celebrate instead of following the specific way YHWH commanded.  It is found in 1 Kings 12.  Go back and read the rest of the story to find out if YHWH was pleased with observing a feast declared unto Him using pagan methods and mans ideas.

32And Jeroboam appointed a feast on the fifteenth day of the eighth month like the feast that was in Judah, and he offered sacrifices on the altar. So he did in Bethel, sacrificing to the calves that he made. And he placed in Bethel the priests of the high places that he had made. 33He went up to the altar that he had made in Bethel on the fifteenth day in the eighth month, in the month that he had devised from his own heart. And he instituted a feast for the people of Israel and went up to the altar to make offerings.

One thought on “Promoting a Lie

  1. Diane says:

    Good comments. I’ve been feeling the same way. I was telling someone yesterday why we don’t celebrate Halloween, and she thought since she didn’t let her kids dress in anything scary it was okay, and that they would have to decide for themselves some day. ??

Share your thoughts!

