Part One: Can a person be a Christian and a Hebrew?


The more I learn, the more I realize how much I don’t know.  I’m guessing you can relate!  Being a person who THRIVES on learning, researching and studying, I LOVE this journey!  It’s all about learning, unlearning, and relearning.

My post today is not going to earn me any brownie points, but it needs to be said.  There is so much confusion, MIXTURE, deceit, elevating our own feelings and decisions above the Word of the Almighty Yah, and so many downright LIES that are being taught from pulpits, from leaders (sincerity means nothing, mus1ims are very sincere)

SO…

In order to answer the question from the title, we must first learn where today’s christianity actually came from:

Here is what a modern christian believes, based on my present understanding:

  • the first half of the Bible (which christians call the Old Testament) is stories to learn from, but mostly not for today – except for select parts… and a large portion of the second half has also been explained away because of “cultural differences”.
  • the New Testament supersedes the Old and Paul defines what Jesus taught.
  • Jesus and Paul brought a new way called christianity
  • Jesus is God the Son
  • Jesus was born on December 25  (Saturnalia)
  • he died on Good Friday

“About 200 B.C. mystery cults began to appear in Rome just as they had earlier in Greece. Most notable was the Cybele cult centered on Vatican hill …Associated with the Cybele cult was that of her lover, Attis (the older Tammuz, Osiris, Dionysus, or Orpheus under a new name). He was a god of ever-reviving vegetation. Born of a virgin, he died and was reborn annually. The festival began as a day of blood on Black Friday and culminated after three days in a day of rejoicing over the resurrection.” (EASTER: ITS ORIGINS AND MEANINGS by The Religious Tolerance Organization Web site http://www.religioustolerance.org/easter.htm)

  • his death is remembered with communion (which came from the catholic eucharist)
  • Jesus rose from the dead on Easter (Ashteroth) SUNday
  • Jesus came to do away with or free man from the burdensome laws that His Father, the God of the Old Testament, put in place, including the keeping of Sabbath, the eating of only clean foods, the keeping of His Feasts, and much more.
  • salvation is based only on a belief in one’s mind that Jesus died for you and one can be eternally secure by having that belief.
  • belief does not require actions that back it up
  • salvation is recognized by baptism
  • christians who die go to heaven
  • christians will be raptured out of the tribulation period.
  • the Father has changed the requirements for His people and the definition of sin, which is explained in dispensations of time or progressive revelation
  • anything (no matter how pagan) that a PERSON decides to redeem can be redeemed, regardless of how pagan it’s origins
  • Many christians are not aware of the fact that their system of beliefs is based on decisions made by Constantine, the catholic church and the “church fathers” and that the translations of Scripture were tampered with in order to promote those decisions and their agenda. (see below)

In closing, I want to share the following from a website.  (Modern christianity is based on the constantine creed)

‘The Constantine Creed

“I renounce all customs, rites, legalisms, unleavened breads and sacrifices of lambs of the Hebrews, and all the other feasts of the Hebrews, sacrifices, prayers, aspirations, purifications, sanctifications, and propitiations, and fasts and new moons, and Sabbaths, and superstitions, and hymns and chants, and observances and synagogues. Absolutely everything Jewish, every Law, rite and custom and IF afterwards I shall wish to deny and return to Jewish superstition, or shall be found eating with Jews, or feasting with them, or secretly conversing and condemning the christian religion instead of openly confuting them and condemning their vain faith, THEN let the trembling of Cain and the leprosy of Gehazi cleave to me, as well as the legal punishments to which I acknowledge myself liable. And may I be an anathema in the world to come, and may my soul be set down with satan and the devils.
(Stefano Assemani, Acta Sanctorium Martyrum Orientalium at Occidentalium, Vol. 1, Rome 1748, page 105)

Furthermore, any follower of the “Jewish Rabbi” who wished to join this “holy community” (christianity) was compelled to adopt a different set of rules and customs. Subsequently special creeds were drafted, to which the christian would have to swear such as:

“I accept all customs, rites, legalism, and feasts of the Romans, sacrifices. Prayers, purifications with water, sanctifications by Pontificus Maxmus (high priests of Rome), propitiations, and feasts, and the New Sabbath “Sol dei” (day of the Sun, ), all new chants and observances, and all the foods and drinks of the Romans. In other words, I absolutely accept everything Roman, every new law, rite and custom, of Rome, and the New Roman Religion.”

Additionally, in approximately 365 AD, the Council of Laodicea wrote, in one of their canons:
Christians must not judaize by resting on the Sabbath, but must work on that day. Rather, honoring “the Lord’s Day”. But if any shall be found to be judaizers*, let them be anathema (against) from Christ”

Note: Protestants are included as they still observe the holidays and sabbath of Rome, as in “are you going to church this coming Lord’s day”.

Concerning Antiochus Epiphanes… (appx 175 BC)
He set up an image of Zeus in the Temple which was the Abomination of Desolation spoken of in Daniel 11. For 3 years, he continued to desecrate the Temple.

These were the new laws that Antiochus set up:

  • Thou shall profane the Sabbath
  • Thou shall change the set times (festivals) and laws
  • Thou shall set up idols
  • Thou shall eat unclean animals
  • Thou shall not circumcise
  • Thou shall forget Torah

3 years and 2 months later, the Temple was taken back and rededicated. This is known as the Feast of Dedication, or Festival of Lights, or Hanukkah.

What’s really ironic…..these laws were created by an antichrist Antiochus, and are the same things Constantine would later repeat and this is what people want to live by today. Totally going against (Scripture). People today are living under laws created by Antiochus and Constantine; an antichrist.’

Above quotes taken from this website

*definition of judaize in Scripture: Galatians 2:14-16 to live like a Jew (in order to be saved, see vs 16); Todays definition: to conform to the spirit, character, principles, or practices of Judaism.

8 thoughts on “Part One: Can a person be a Christian and a Hebrew?

  1. bkolisha says:

    Might want to read a book called, “The Olive Tree Conspiracy”. The author has passed away but it is a basic on what you are discussing. I’m eager to see where you go with this post. I have done the same research and finally settled on some answers.

  2. bkolisha says:

    I think it is important to remember that they never referred to themselves as either one. Others referred to them as Christians at Antioch but I think they refer to themselves as walking in the Way of the One they followed.
    Looking at His Word, God seems to approach individuals, not groups. Yeshua warns to call no man Father (not submitting to the authority of another); Saul reprimands Corinth when they are quarreling about who baptized them as if the connection to another person can give us cause to boast. He says we boast in the Lord who gives us all we have..our gifts, our life…our words..etc. I think people are more comfortable following a group as a sense of empowerment. God says not by power or might but by MY SPIRIT and Yeshua says we have no need of a teacher (the Spirit searches the heart and mind of God Himself). Perhaps, if we really believed these words, we would find life easier to walk alone with a God that few see and even fewer seem to hear.
    I have found it surprising when discussing how I hear God that others tilt their head and ask the question with some sarcasm, “You really hear God?”. I came to the Lord in His Word…no aisle, no previous family heritage of believers and the more churches I attended I found the same question was always given me when I shared what my Father showed me. They said it was of a previous time. I only know this in Timothy it says, All scripture is inspired by God and given for teaching, reproof, for correction, for training in righteousness so that the man of God may be adequate, equipped for every good work. The only scripture they had at that time was the old testament. New Testament is basically a revelation of how to walk out what we learn in the Old.
    I’m not sure why many do not hear since Yeshua says, My sheep hear my voice and follow Me. How do believers follow that which they do not hear from their Shepherd. I have not figured that out. Many follow their pastor, priest, or rabbi and when I ask questions that is the response I receive, ” My ——— insert name of leader, teacher, prophet, sages, etc and others give me the testimony of their husband in seminary and proceed to ask me..Are you trained in seminary? I don’t know but were Peter and Matthew and the others trained in seminary or rabbinical training? i believe Yeshua chose them from fishermen, tax collectors, and yes, Shaul (Paul) was handpicked and was a Pharisee and definitely learned.
    Do we not believe Him when He speaks? I am not saying training is not good, but I think the Father chose the foolish things of the world to shame that which thinks itself wise. He seems to almost prefer the stutterers, the shepherd boys, the “immoral” woman, the outcast to teach those who consider themselves the “righteous”.
    I hope there are some out there just seeking, like yourself to find truth in whatever package it comes in and to test it against what God has spoken to see if it is real truth. I see too often people arguing over who is right, who is going to heaven, who is going to hell, and who eats right or wrong things as a matter of bragging they often call conviction. I do what I do because I follow my Messiah, Yeshua. I say what He has spoken,” I can only do what I see my Father doing. I only say what I hear my Father saying.” I believe any more or less is merely opinion and that may or may not agree with His Word. Thanks for looking into this on your new post!

    • Kare says:

      That is so beautiful! There is little more inspiring and encouraging than to hear of someone who find The Way through Scripture and YHWH alone. It is such a confirmation. :). I can attest to the fact that hearing His voice is not taught or encouraged in many circles of christianity. I think it is considered to be part of the charismatic movement, which is taboo. I know for myself it is something I am just in the past year or two understanding and seeking. I think when one is not taught to listen for His voice, it has to be learned. For many, they may have heard His voice and not realized it. Or they may have dismissed it thinking it was something else. I have talked to people from this “camp” who are seeking to hear His voice and just don’t know how and they are frustrated.

      Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate your insights!

      • bkolisha says:

        there is a book I used to recommend to others and it seems to have helped some who are truly frustrated and seeking. I think it’s great that they want to hear and I know Father answers those who seek Him diligently. I will look for it tonite…it has a yellow cover and i used it a lot when i first came to the Lord and others seemed to like it. Like you, I think I’ve always journaled and began to see a change in my writing…most it (don’t laugh) was almost like an exchange of love letters between God and I and then Yeshua. I feel like in writing my spirit finds itself and Him. I will get back to you on that particular book. I also read a book called God Changes Your Brain…it’s really interesting…you ought to peek at it. It has a part that says people who pray, meditate actually grow a certain organ in their brain and decrease the another. It’s really quite cool! Thanks for the encouragement. I needed it today. Kara, you are really special and I truly love following your blog. Keep sincere and keep seeking, but also thanks for just giving a good word to me. I’ve encountered a lot of persecution in the “Body” and now that my Beloved is gone to be with the Lord, I’m learning again to stand alone in what the Father shows me. Not as easy as it was when you find someone kindred in heart and spirit and then they’re gone. I appreciate your correspondence with me and your heart.

      • Kare says:

        I have a book I recommend as well… But so far most just want to use Scripture. That is fine, but Scripture that is read in a Greek paradigm will not be understood the way it was written by Hebrews authors. I continue to hope that one day the “aha” moment will come :). I am so overjoyed that you are encouraged! It can indeed be a lonely walk. BUT also one that is ultimately rewarding!

      • bkolisha says:

        I agree. Without a Hebraic mindset (not necessarily a Jewish one), it is challenging to go deeper. The Spirit leads, however, and God reveals Himself to whom He desires and when He desires. Keep going. It’s encouraging to know another walks and imitates the One we are supposed to be following.

  3. James Burns says:

    Kare, thanks for posting this:

    You have a lot of questions I will try very hard to share my understanding. All the way through the OT there are pictures of the Messiah. From the animals that were slain to cover Adam and Eve’s nakedness, the Passover Lamb, The two goats on Atonement and the wave sheaf offering on the morrow after the Sabbath that falls during the Days of Unleavened, just to name a few.

    Jesus was not born on December 25th. He was more than likely born around the time of the Feast of Tabernacles. The scriptures tell us that there were sheep grazing in the fields the when He was born. Several sources say that the weather in Palestine is not good for grazing in late December and the sheep would have been corralled.

    Jesus did not die on good Friday. In the year AD 31 the passover was on a Wednesday. Jesus was taken off the cross and placed in the tomb before the approaching Sabbath (the First Day of Unleavened Bread) a Thursday. On Friday the (preparation day) the women went and prepared spices for Jesus’ body. Then they they rested on the weekly Sabbath (Saturday). Jesus said the only sign he would give the Pharisees was that he would be in the grave 3 days AND 3 nights. He was buried at sunset on Wednesday and raised at sunset on Saturday; 3 days and 3 nights exactly! When the women came to the tomb with the spices they found the stone rolled away. When Mary Magdalene saw Jesus in the garden he said “do not touch me for I have not yet ascended to My father. Look at Leviticus 23:10-13. This was an offering of grain and oil; maybe a loaf, that was waved up to Heaven and back down. This was a picture of Jesus’ ascension on the first day of the week. And he came back down and walked with the men on the road to Ema-us and later met with the other disciples. This was also the start of the counting for Pentecost.

    Jesus said that Heaven and Earth would pass away before one jot or tittle of the law would pass away. He did not do away with the law. He magnified it. Read John 1: 16 Out of his fullness we have all received grace in place of grace already given. 17 For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. NIV

    The Message renders if even more awesomely.

    ” We all live off his generous bounty,
    gift after gift after gift.
    We got the basics from Moses,
    and then this exuberant giving and receiving,
    This endless knowing and understanding—
    all this came through Jesus, the Messiah.”

    The words of Jesus are a blessing on top of the blessing of Moses’ words. This goes perfectly with Matthew 13. Where the law and Jesus’ teachings on the Kingdom are called treasures.

    52 And he said to them, “Therefore every scribe who has been trained for the kingdom of heaven is like the master of a household who brings out of his treasure what is new and what is old.” Remember a scribe was a teacher of the Law and the “Old Testament”

    Jesus also said “if you will enter into life, keep the commandments”

    If you try to read through the writings of Paul and take out every place where he says to be obedient and to be holy and to forsake worldliness so that you will have a once-saved-always-saved-easy believe-ism hyper grace, what you will have is a moth-eaten sheet that will cover nothing. In 1 Corinthians 6 Paul writes ” 9 Or do you not know that wrongdoers will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived: Neither the sexually immoral nor idolaters nor adulterers nor men who have sex with men 10 nor thieves nor the greedy nor drunkards nor slanderers nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God.” This doesn’t sound like a man that thinks the law was done away with.

    And remember the author of the book of Hebrews says that He (God) will write His laws on our hearts just as he told the prophet Jeremiah.

    Read again the short letter from James. His words are powerful and tell us that faith without works is dead. The New Testament ends with John writing in Revelations 22
    14 Blessed are they that do his commandments, that they may have right to the tree of life, and may enter in through the gates into the city.
    15 For without are dogs, and sorcerers, and whoremongers, and murderers, and idolaters, and whosoever loveth and maketh a lie.

    John says in his first letter that Jesus’ laws are love and they are not burdensome. What makes this so? We have grace which teaches us to be holy and to deny ungodly lust. (Titus 2:10-11) We also have God’s spirit that teaches us all truth (1 John 2). We have the brethren, each with our own gifts of the spirit that we share when we assemble whether in person or on line, 🙂 Most importantly were have Jesus who said His yoke was light. A yoke is a thing that joins two oxen together to pull a burden. Jesus offers us His yoke and he is joined with us in overcoming sin, self, Satan and the world.

    Sister, we were told that times would come when men would not endure sound doctrine and there would be those that turn the Grace of God into lawlessness. Be bold. Be strong your redemption is near. Do not grow weary in well doing. Persecution and perhaps martyrdom will come (no rapture). Jesus said they would, but, only if we are keeping his word. See Matthew 10. If we are worldly the world will love us. The world loves its own, but we are not of the world. If we live by the Sermon on the Mount we will be seen as radical and called “haters” and “intolerant”, marginalized and persecuted. Count it all joy that you are worthy to suffer for Christ.

    I want to write more but I hope this helps.

    James Burns

    PS The bread and wine were present at the Passover before the time of Jesus. From the book of Ruth we read in chapter 2:14 At mealtime Boaz said to her, “Come over here. Have some bread and dip it in the wine vinegar.”

    All who take part in the harvest are worthy to take part in the feast.

Share your thoughts!

