Summer is Here


Screen Shot 2016-06-04 at 7.38.59 PM

Photo by Christian 1776 at Deviant Art . Com

In Montana, that is quite a feat!  Today is the first day I can remember in 2016 where it has been hot.  The goats were out grazing, the plants are thriving, the chickens are running around eating bugs, the pets are chilling and the family is outdoors just enjoying the Creation.  So much to be thankful for!

It’s a busy season with my home business, so that makes me EXTRA thankful also for Sabbath.  A day where I can go hang out with the goats, enjoy the garden, sleep in, take a nap, snack on delicious treats, and just listen.  Right now I hear crickets on the hill and birds chirping in the tall grass.  Our road is a dead end, so only every once in a while do I hear a car drive by on the gravel road.  A few dogs are barking in the distance.  Such serenity in life on the farm and a day of REST to boot!

I have been neglectful of this blog… so let me catch you up.  Our last doe of the year is due to kid in the next week or two.  I am very excited to see what she has for us.  We are keeping the herd small this year.  Four does, a wether and a buck at this point.   I just want to sell enough babies to pay for the keep of the herd… not worried about profit.

I miss the slower times of  making sourdough, cheese , yogurt and kefir… but this is only for a season.

This summer I will be traveling quite a bit… in the last half of June I am driving from Montana to Florida via Minnesota and then via Denver on the way back.  Then in the beginning of August I will be driving from Montana to Pennsylvania and back.  If you are on that route and would like to connect, contact me and I’ll see if we can arrange it!  I would love to find place to spend Shabbat while on the road!  =)

How about you?  I would love to hear from you about what you plan to do this summer.  What you are learning on your journey.  Anything you want to share!  I am also interested to hear what kind of recipes you are most interested in…

Until then – have a lovely and wonder-filled week!

Share your thoughts!

